Slow Cooker Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I brought this to a potluck and it didn't go over well. The taste was sweet but I think I, and others, would have rather just eat plain old corn. It didn't taste horrible, just wasn't anything special. I have eaten creamed corn at a potluck before but it was more thick and creamy and had a bit of a kick from green chiles or jalapenos. I much preferred the spiced up version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used two packages of frozen corn - one white and one yellow, halved the amount of butter and used low fat cream cheese. I also chose to omit the sugar and didn't miss it at all. I served this with ham and a potato casserole for Christmas dinner and it was a hit! A few guests even asked for the recipe. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this as written, except that I used two 16 oz. bags of frozen corn. Served as a side dish at Christmas and everyone liked it. The bowl was emptied, not a bite left over! Easy to make and very good. Wil try fat free cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Yummm!!!!!!! I doubled the recipe and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I had high hopes for this one, but it just didn't do anything special for my family. It takes like corn with cream cheese...that's pretty much it. I'd rather have the frozen creamed corn. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Simple, qick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCAMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving to mixed reviews. The taste was fine, but not the texture. Next time I will frozen CREAM corn instead of kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I followed other suggestions to pre-melt the cream cheese and butter in a separate pan first. I added the sugar, salt and pepper to the saucepan and a pinch of garlic powder, too. I then used my immersion blender to make it smooth and then poured it over the frozen corn in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Absolutely love this. Definitely an occasional food, not being the healthiest way to prepare corn. But that just makes it all the more special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good, but very rich! I added another bag of corn kernels, and it was a hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle

Displaying results 131-140 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States