Slow Cooker Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I find myself craving exactly this recipe when the weather is chilly. So nice and creamy without being tooooooo fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
So yummy! Added 3 cloves of garlic, a can of corn and some precooked smoked sausage. Didn't need to blend it at all. Used a potatoe masher instead. Also, used a cup of half & half instead of evaporated milk since I didn't have any. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very awesome recipe, great flavor, simple to prepare, as most say it does lack in salt, I added 3 cloves of garlic and only cut 2 of the leeks we put cheddar cheese on top too, instead of using the blender I used my immersion blender right in the slow cooker. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I was anticipating a creamy smooth potato soup. The recipe had a watery consistency and the odor of the leeks was very overpowering and unappealing. The recipe was followed exactly. I was very disappointed in the entire recipe. In fact only one bowl was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I thought this was going to be an excellent soup. For my taste, there were too many leeks. Three leeks equalled almost two cups. I would approach the recipe again and add 1 leek and use milk instead of evaporated milk. The taste was off. It's my favorite soup and I order it whenever I see it on the menu. This was too odd in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Followed the recipe aside from adding some fresh garlic and was amazing! Would be good with bacon and some cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am the original submitter of this recipe, and I just wanted to add a note about blending the soup. Yesterday was the first time I tried putting it through the blender cold, and it was awful! What a terrible texture - all lumpy and grainy. I'd definitely recommend blending it hot, very carefully. DO NOT FILL THE BLENDER TOO FULL! Half way should be good. Another option is to use one of those blender wand things, and blend it right in the pot. The texture is much better then. Thanks to all who have reviewed this recipe so far! I hope many of you enjoy this soup as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
wasn't creamy enough for me but my family liked it. I tweaked it a bit but wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JASON7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitman, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Great recipe, especially for something easy to throw together earlier in the day so it's ready when you need it. Didn't have leeks so used green onions. Also used regular milk as I didn't have evaporated milk. Mine was kind of salty but my potatoes were on the smaller side so that's probably why. Very good and will definitely make it again! Served it in homemade bread bowls and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States