Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was ok as is. It had an odd taste and smell to it. After looking at some similar recipes on here, I added 1 cup Thousand Island dressing, 1 cup apricot preserves, 1/4 cup red wine, 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then I cooked the sauce another 1/2 hour or so. That made it taste a lot better, but I'm not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is so fabulous, you can't define the cranberry sauce it just has a little bit of a sweet, beefy taste. I was wondering if there should have been some liquid in it, but I made it just as directed and ended up with plenty of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Terrrrific - 4-1/2 Stars is too low a rating. Really interesting taste. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great! Sprinkle English or Church Roast with garlic & onion granules & pepper (no salt required); sprinkle with all purpose flour just to cover. Heat EVOO in a pot with NO non-stick surface to get a nice brown color on the outside of the roast. Watch the heat b/c this surface can get hot quickly and cause everything to stick or burn...not the objective! Also, be sure to brown for about 5 minutes per side but include the narrow ends of the roast. The goal is to seal in the juices. Remove roast and set aside. Thoroughly mix the cranberry sauce & the dry onion soup mix in a bowl. Reduce the drippings to medium heat and add about 1 cup of low sodium beef broth (add more if desired but not more than 1 cup total). Stir to incorporate the drippings with the broth, then add the combined cranberry sauce/dry onion soup mix to heat through for about 2 minutes. This allows all the flavors to be incorporated before adding to the slow cooker. As well as reducing cook time b/c all ingredients have been thoroughly heated before placing in the cooker. (Pre-heat your cooker slightly too!) I'm always looking for a way to reduce cooking time in the cooker so I can enjoy the meal sooner that the 6-8 hours suggested. I cooked 5 lb. of roast in 4 1/2 hours on high with an additional half hour to thicken sauce as needed. Slow cooking requires patience of which sometimes I don't have but this recipe is well worth the wait! Served with Crashed Hot Potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used on an Arm Roast and it turned out great. I had added a little water but wasn't needed. Used my homemade dry onion soup mix - its so easy and cheap to mix up and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
DELICIOUS! A definite must try and super easy to make!! I only did one thing different - when the meat is done, take the drippings out of the slow cooker and pour in a pot, put on the stove. Add the flour and butter as stated and make your gravy there! I found it took a long time in the slow cooker and didn't get the gravy texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Was good but needed a little something, will try to zest it up a bit next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
We had this for Christmas Day. It was excellent and easy to make so that I can play with the kids. The cranberry gave it enough sweetness and the gravy on top added the final touch. It is a on our list to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Meat was good for sandwiches thankfully the "gravy"/sauce which was gross did not permiate into the meat much -with all the toppings on a sandwich it was good. Sorry, this recipe was just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States