Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great! Sprinkle English or Church Roast with garlic & onion granules & pepper (no salt required); sprinkle with all purpose flour just to cover. Heat EVOO in a pot with NO non-stick surface to get a nice brown color on the outside of the roast. Watch the heat b/c this surface can get hot quickly and cause everything to stick or burn...not the objective! Also, be sure to brown for about 5 minutes per side but include the narrow ends of the roast. The goal is to seal in the juices. Remove roast and set aside. Thoroughly mix the cranberry sauce & the dry onion soup mix in a bowl. Reduce the drippings to medium heat and add about 1 cup of low sodium beef broth (add more if desired but not more than 1 cup total). Stir to incorporate the drippings with the broth, then add the combined cranberry sauce/dry onion soup mix to heat through for about 2 minutes. This allows all the flavors to be incorporated before adding to the slow cooker. As well as reducing cook time b/c all ingredients have been thoroughly heated before placing in the cooker. (Pre-heat your cooker slightly too!) I'm always looking for a way to reduce cooking time in the cooker so I can enjoy the meal sooner that the 6-8 hours suggested. I cooked 5 lb. of roast in 4 1/2 hours on high with an additional half hour to thicken sauce as needed. Slow cooking requires patience of which sometimes I don't have but this recipe is well worth the wait! Served with Crashed Hot Potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used on an Arm Roast and it turned out great. I had added a little water but wasn't needed. Used my homemade dry onion soup mix - its so easy and cheap to mix up and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
DELICIOUS! A definite must try and super easy to make!! I only did one thing different - when the meat is done, take the drippings out of the slow cooker and pour in a pot, put on the stove. Add the flour and butter as stated and make your gravy there! I found it took a long time in the slow cooker and didn't get the gravy texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Was good but needed a little something, will try to zest it up a bit next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
We had this for Christmas Day. It was excellent and easy to make so that I can play with the kids. The cranberry gave it enough sweetness and the gravy on top added the final touch. It is a on our list to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Meat was good for sandwiches thankfully the "gravy"/sauce which was gross did not permiate into the meat much -with all the toppings on a sandwich it was good. Sorry, this recipe was just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is one of my favorite ways to slow cook a a beef pot roast. I like to use one can whole cranberry sauce and two envelopes of beefy onion soup mix. To thicken the gravy I prefer just thickening with a slurry of water and corn starch. Either way though is just fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The only thing I changed was whole berry cranberry sauce, and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
The meat was tender and moist. What an easy dish! The gravy has the perfect amount of sweetness. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
So tender and delicious! I added small amount of water to start, but may not have had too. It was falling completely apart when done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJaye2010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States