Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I really liked the concept actually. It's simplicity means I have more time to do things I'd rather be doing. Instead of onion soup mix, since I am trying to make all things I eat paleo, I just cut up some onion and placed it on the bottom instead. And instead of a can of cranberry sauce, I made it from fresh cranberries and maple syrup. At first when the meat came out it was so tender I could barely pick it up with tongs without it falling apart. But I stored it in the fridge for lunches the next day. Even with the gravy I'd made from it (using almond flower instead of wheat flower), it was remarkably dry and hard. A huge contrast from when it first came out. I was very disappointed, but the taste itself was very good. Does anyone know why this might be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is a delicious tangy dish. The roast came out moist and the juices served directly as gravy were fabulous on both the roast as well as on mashed potatoes. I did add a 1/4 cup of water at the start because of other reviews but it was not needed. It was a great twist to the traditional slow cooker pot roast that my entire family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
It wasn't so salty that we didn't eat it, but def won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The meat was tender, but we did not care for the cranberry gravy. It just didn't seem to go well with the beef or mashed potatoes. I think it would be delicious with a pork roast and rice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is a wonderful pot roast recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sudbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
OUTSTANDING!! It was a hit with the entire family. I did double the soup & cranberry, to make sure I had enough gravy for the potatoes. I also added a 1/2 can of water, felt it was odd placing the meat on dry mix, and not starting with any liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Love Love Love. Easy to make and tastes gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. We loved the gravy! The meat was not tender I was expecting it to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Very good. A little sweet so next time I think I will only use a half can of cranberry sauce and two envelopes of onion soup mix. Meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe was pretty tasty. I love slow cooker recipes with minimal prep, and this one is very easy and has only a few ingredients. I especially liked the gravy/sauce. The cranberry sauce is subtle and compliments the onion soup mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States