Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I know the ingredients call for a beef chuck roast, but I think it's actually supposed to be a PORK roast, like the write up states ("Simple but absolutely delicious cranberry PORK roast!")... I can't imagine a cranberry sauce with beef, but who knows... I chose pork, since fruit sauces are usually a good complement, and it turned out fantastic! My husband wolfed it down and normally he's a very slow eater... Don't worry about it not having much liquid to begin with-- I stared into my crockpot for quite awhile debating if I needed to add water (my hubby even peered over my shoulder and commented on how dry it looked compared to my other crock pot recipes) but I went on faith and followed the recipe to a T and it turned out great (the cranberry sauce quickly "melts" and turns into a watery stew for the meat to cook in). Yes, this is a sweet recipe, but it's sweet like BBQ sauce is sweet (it tastes appropriate and not remotely like cranberry sauce-- trust me, I'm not a big fan of the stuff)... I'm also not a big fan of pork, but I am a HUGE fan of crock pots and know that otherwise dry/tough meat ALWAYS turns out fabulous in it.... Give this recipe a try-- your tastebuds will thank you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
I've been making this for years, my family loves it. The last four hours of cooking I add baby carrots and cut up potatoes and sprinkle a second bag of onion soup mix on top of them. This recipe is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I thought this might turn out wierd, but had to try it because it seemed so easy. It was great! It doesn't taste like cranberries (I used a store-brand of cranberry sauce), but formed lots of nice, brown-type gravy to serve over my garlic-roasted mashed potatoes. I used one fresh 3-lb chuck roast and one .5 lb rump roast (from the freezer) and prefered the rump roast because it wasn't so fatty. So next time, I'd just do a rump roast instead. I added some baby carrots to the crockpot and those were great too. Luckily I bought two cans of cranberry sauce so I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
No, it's not a mistake: this is for a beef chuck roast (but feel free to use pork, I guess). What a revelation! I've made pot roast for years, but would never have guessed that cranberry sauce would produce a nice browned roast (in a slow cooker!) with such rich gravy. I used water and corn starch to thicken the gravy, instead of the butter & flour in the recipe. We had it over egg noodles, but next time I'll add quartered potatoes and baby carrots, because I think they would go well with this. If so, I would also add 1/4 to 1/3 cup of water, to produce a little more gravy for cooking the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
WOW!! What a great recipe!! Kids even loved it. I did not have the dry onion soup mix so I substituted the soup mix with 4 tsp beef boullion, 8 tsp dried onion flakes, 1 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp pepper. I also added 2 carrots sliced up. Thanks for the fantastic meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was wonderful, different and sooooooo easy. I used stewing beef that I had on hand. I placed the beef in the slow cooker and dumped the soup mix in and gave it a quick stir, then I dumped the can of cranberry sauce on top, covered and let it go all day. I also used whole berry cranberry sauce since thats what I had in my cupboard. I liked it that way but the kiddies prefer without the berries so I will make it that way next time. I served this over egg noodles and it was absolutely amazing! I just couldnt get over how easy this was to make. You really cant get any simpler. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is absolutely the best and easiest slow cooker roast recipe!! I've made it twice, first with beef (arm) roast and second time with pork loin roast. The arm roast didn't produce enough liquid so I didn't need to thicken the sauce. In future would use chuck roast because the sauce tasted a little charred since it was slightly thick. The pork roast was awesome!! I thickened the pork juices with corn starch instead of flour/butter, and loved it! Used whole berry cranberry sauce both times. Did not add any additional liquid--just the whole cranberry sauce--and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
The flavor of this roast was surprisingly excellent! I was a bit leery when I read the recipe; but so many people rated it highly that I went ahead and tried it. It was GREAT and my husband snarfed all the leftovers the next day. We will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Didn't change a THING! This is FABULOUS! Roast was amazing! Gravy was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Served the gravy over the meat and over mashed potatoes. Try this! It's to DIE for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was OK, nothing fabulous. I liked the gravy, but it was a little sweet for meat. I think I would like the gravy on noodles or potatoes, but not really for meat. Husband didn't want to try it at first, but once he did he really liked it. I'd make it again for him, but not for me. (and I love cranberries! go figure....)Made it again, this time I really liked it. I don't know what changed, but I like it a lot & hubby asks for it frequently & I am happy to make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States