Slow Cooker Cranberry Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I have been making this for years and espeically enjoy doing so around the holidays when I have an excuse to use HOMEMADE cranberry sauce (mmm...). Although not what I'd condider "guest worthy" (I would reserve this for a family meal), this is quick and satisfying nonetheless. Just pair wtih a green veggie / starch and you're all set! I too sometimes serve this with onion rings for a fun change of pace. Since I do not care for canned whole berry cranberry sauce, I use the jellied variety when I have no homemade sauce available. I usually add a couple generous handfuls of dried cranberries (i.e. Craisins) to add texture, but this is perfectly fine without them. Sometimes I'll sub Catalina or Western dressing if I don't have any French in the fridge. Play around with this. The beauty of Dawn's recipe is that it is VERY forgiving - for example, add a packet of onion soup mix to make a savory gravy (just be sure to omit the sliced onion in its place). All in all, this is decent and worth trying, if at least just once (but I bet you'll make it more often than that!). Thanks for sharing, Ms. Miner! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was ok but definitely needs some seasonings for the meat. The sauce was good but a little sweet for my son and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yum! This is wonderful! And tender, and easy. And, since my husband is on a strict diet, this sauce doubles as bar-b-q sauce without so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Unbelievably simple and delicious. I used a pork butt cut into 1 in chunks, seasoned well with salt and pepper, added dried cranberries I found in the pantry and cooked on high for about 6 hrs. Used a flour slurry to thicken and served on top of mashed potatoes with green beans, bacon and roasted pine nuts as a side. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was AMAZING! I didn't read any of the reviews before making it, but I had looked at similar recipes. I decided to combine 2. First I coated my roast with Dijon mustard and seared it in some olive oil before putting it in the crock pot. I also mixed the Cranberry sauce and Dressing before adding the onion. My kids aren't hip on sauces, so I really didn't do anything with the sauce. I think next time, I may thicken it up a bit for my husband and I. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I had a 2 pound roast on hand, but made exact amounts of sauce ONLY because I only had one can of cranberry sauce on hand. Everyone loved it and we sopped up everything in site with the sauce. I will definitely double or triple it next time. Great new keeper for some picky eaters!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYKENNEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Excellent flavors...lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Served it to friends and they loved it. I, along with other reviewers, seasoned roast with olive oil, crushed garlic, salt and pepper overnight in a ziploc bag. I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. Sliced beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I used a pork shoulder roast and added a cup of pineapple I had left over. Cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 3 hours til it was falling apart. Left it shredded in the sauce in the fridge overnight and Voila! The best pulled pork for sandwiches! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The simplicity of this is wonderful! I had a 3 lb. roast and cooked on low for 8 hours - came out dry. Should've read the reviews first! Definitely, need to salt & pepper first. Will try again with less cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States