Slow Cooker Cranberry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I changed one thing - I used an 8 oz. bottle of Catalina dressing instead of 16 oz. It's what I had on hand, and I believe I've seen this recipe before written that way. It's great with 8 oz., and it made plenty of sauce for 3 breasts and 4 or 5 thighs. I cooked a bit longer than the recipe stated since the thighs were bone-in. Served over mashed potatoes, and it was great. Love the way the house smells while it's cooking, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I followed the recipe to the "T" and found this to be a very strange and unpleasant blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I made this last night with some pork chops I had frozen. The sauce was delicious! I also threw in some apple slices and it was a nice compliment to the flavors. I served it over rice with asparagus, cornbread, small salad on the side. I overcooked the pork a little bit (1hr on high, then 3 hrs low) but that was my fault-not the recipes. Will eat again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe was OK but I would prefer to grill the chicken next time then brush with the sauce. Or warm the sauce on its own and use it for dipping, etc. It is very sweet and rich. Will try a lighter version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I have been using this recipe for about 25 years. It makes enough sauce for 10 chicken legs seperated. I also use French salad dressing and add a tin of mandarin oranges undrained. After putting the chicken in the crockpot or an oven dish (350 for 1-1/2 hours) I SPRINKLE THE CHICKEN GENEROUSLY WITH CURRY POWDER AND GARDLIC POWDER, plus some pepper, then add the sauce mixture. I turns out great over rice or pasta. I have to say that it took me a long time to try this dish because of the unusual ingredients but when I did try it, it became a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I followed the recipe, but used it on a pork roast. My wife liked it well enough, but I found the "gravy" to be too sweet and rich. I won't make it again, unless asked. There are better ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great reviews, I was concerned adding in catilina dressing because we seem dependent on prepared foods full of sugar and other unhealthy ingredients, so when I saw the review that left out the dressing and added fresh berries I could see this recipe change to one I would try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
this is an old recipe that i've enjoyed in the past, but please, please read the nutritional info. it's a killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
We've had this recipe for years, except we bake it in an oven until done. The name of our recipe is "Tasting is Believing Chicken", because of the wierd ingredient combination. It goes good with a nice rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
My mom has been baking this recipe for 15 years with French dressing. I absolutely love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States