Slow Cooker Country-Style Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Tried this for the first time and it was a hit!! Family loved it and the meat just fell off the bone. Had a awesome taste to it with all the veggies in it!! That one will def go in rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Dry. And I didn't even cook them as long as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
My husband loves ribs and this recipe has potential. I seasoned my ribs with a rib rub vs. just salt and pepper and used half tomato sauce and half tomato based chili sauce. I left out the lemon juice and instead added a splash of apple cider vinegar along with some minced garlic. After cooking, like others I experienced a thin sauce so I skimmed the fat off the top. This really needed a little "something" so I added a little liquid smoke. I then thickened it with a bit of cornstarch. The meat was pretty much falling apart and overall, not bad. I think with a little more "doctoring" of the sauce and basically shredding the meat this will make some decent pork BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Just for grins and giggles I added 6 cloves of garlic (minced) to the vegetables and dusted the ribs with smoked Hungarian paprika (plus added a little to the sauce) to give them a little smokier flavor. End result...WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howie Tenke

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very yummy! All my children even enjoyed this dish! I added garlic cloves to the recipe and let it cook on low overnight. The meat just fell off the bone!! Only con is that it didn't have AS MUCH flavor as I thought it would have, but still excellent! I will be making this again for my family another time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We really liked these. I used some leftover spaghetti sauce instead of opening a can of tomato sauce and it worked great. I cooked these on high 2 hrs and then low for 5 hours. Served these with creole rice and sweet and sour slaw as sides. I will definitely make these again but add a little cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce just a tad, otherwise perfect! Very nice change of pace from bbq sauce ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
If one reads the author’s recipe description, then I would not change a thing. It was delicious, the meat just fell off the bones and the sauce complemented perfectly the rice I had on the side. I could understand that if you were expecting a thick BBQ sauce as the end result, some may have been disappointed. I actually used St Louis Style pork ribs. Having the other half with my wife tonight and can’t stop thinking of how good it will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My family didnt care too much for this recipe. I was asked to go back to my original recipe which is to just place ribs in slow cooker on high for about 1 hr then pour our favorite barbecue sauce over it and let it cook for an additional 6-8 hours on low setting or until meat is tender and starts to fall off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Very good. I cut each rib in half to make them easier to handle and fit in my smallish cooker. In the last hour of cooking I skimmed a good amount of fat from the sides of the container. I did notice the sauce was thin, as other comments indicated; so right before serving I removed the meat to a covered casserole and added some cornstarch/water (crank up to high) before pouring the thickened sauce over the waiting pork, and served with egg noodles. I also added 1-2 dashes of tobasco to the sauce before cooking, maybe next time a bit more, as we like some heat. I will definitely make again now that the weather is getting cooler and I am in the mood for heavier fare. The leftovers are to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this today. They aren't the best ribs I've ever had, but they are good for no more effort than they take. Next time I think I'll add a tablespoon of Liquid Smoke. I might thicken the tomato sauce to serve on the side after the ribs are done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States