Slow Cooker Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I didn't have garlic salt in hand, so I just put in garlic powder... I didn't really expect this dish to turn out that great from how it looked from the prep time, honestly. However, the Cornish hens turned out juicy, and there was enough salt from the olives. I think I will try it over wild rice, but I just ate it by itself. It would be nice to skim some of the fat off since the liquid seems a little too fatty from the chicken. However, definitely a great slow cooker recipe that's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GluttonousPig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
As a "newbie" cook, this recipe tasted amazing and was so easy to make (I added peas and used minced garlic)! When it was cooked, I made a simple chicken bouillion roux from using the sauce from crock pot. Made simple homemade mash potatoes to complete it. Wow! Made this as my valentine's dinner for my fiance. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe. Used garlic rather than garlic salt. The olives, zucchini, and mushrooms worked great together. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I loved the combination of muchrooms, zucchini and olives in this stuffing. I plan on trying a baked version of this sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Doubled the recipe as I always do!!! I am not a fan of green olives but my husband and children are, so needless to say I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe. It didn't look appetizing nor did it smell appetizing before, during and after cooking but it tasted GREAT!! I cooked my hens a bit longer on a lower setting as I doubled the recipe. Also, I never use garlic salt or powder (just fresh garlic) 3 cloves for this recipe and 2 twists on my sea salt grinder was all I changed. I did remove the hens from the crock pot and set them in my broiler for approximately 7 minutes to brown the tops (just cause that's the way I like them :) The end result was delicious as I served it over long grain wild rice (A MUST)! There really wasn't a need for me to double the stuffing/juice as there was plenty! My husband who LOVES green olives stated that I should not put as many in next time.....and I, who am NOT A FAN of green olives LOVED it just the way it was!!!! My boys, 8-13 years old LOVED it just as it was! Thanks for a different way of preparing my hens in the "Slow Cooker"! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great Recipe! I make it all the time, my family loves it!The only thing I change is I use a chicken instead of the cornish hens. I put it on low for 8 hours in the slow cooker but follow the same ingredient amounts. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I gave it a shot and I loved it!! Pouring the sauce along with the mushrooms,Olives and cucumbers was awesome, i didnt make enough rice but this meal vanished very fast!!The Olives gave it a great taste.. Well done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wasn't sure about the Olives, but tried it anyway. It was fantastic! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SFleming314
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
It didn't turn out looking quite as picture-perfectly pretty as the photo shown in the recipe, but it tasted amazing! Would make this many time more. The meat would just fall off the bones. For never having prepared a cornish hen before, I was quite thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelocta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was very skeptical at first due to the green olive, but everything blended together so perfectly it was great. The meat was practically falling off of the bone! The only thing I did differently was add a second can of the Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup to the pot and was so glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States