Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I have been making my corned beef and cabbage in the crockpot for a long time. I would rate this as the #1 best tasting food in the crockpot. I will let you all in on a little secret though. The only liquid you need to add is the water(about half to 3/4 to the top of the pot) You do not need beer, chicken broth or any other liquid for flavor. The only spice I would recommend is either the packet that comes with the corned beef or some whole peppercorns. Otherwise the meat will do all of the flavoring for you. Also, I always add my potatoes in the beginning along with the carrots and onion. They do not come out mushy at all, just very melt in your mouth tasty. You can leave them in larger pieces or you can use the small whole potatoes. Then for the last hour of cooking you can add your cabbage. Very simple meal but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3621 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really good-my family loved it. The only change I made was to cook it on low for 8 hours and then add the cabbage the last 1/2 hour of cooking. 8 hours on high seemed like the meat might get too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat H
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Amazingly simple, and amazingly delicious. The only changes I made were to set the slow cooker on low, instead of high. The meat came out tender and falling apart. I might put in the vegetables later on next time, but if you like stewy and smushy vegetables, then put it in the pot at the beginning. A solid hit! My boyfriend loved this dish, and it made leftovers for the two of us for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1558 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I loved this because I can put it all in the crock pot first thing in the morning, go about my day and have a wonderful completed meal when I return home at 5pm. Few observations: the recipe definitely meant to say 8 hours on LOW, I can't imagine how it would have turned out otherwise, nor can I think of any crock pot recipe that is cooked THAT long on high. Secondly, use beef broth instead of water, it gives that much more flavor. Finally, I took out the roast and let it rest for 20 minutes and threw the cabbage in. It was perfectly cooked in the 20 minutes and not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
653 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this recipe for my first ever St. Patties with my new hubby. After reading many reviews, I decided it was too basic and made several changes to add more flavor: 3 Tbl sugar (white or brown). enough water or beef broth to submerge meat. 6 garlic cloves. 2 bay leaves. 3 Tbl butter. 12 whole Allspice. 1/2 tsp pepper. NO SALT!!!!! 5 red potatoes (instead of 10 - leaves more liquid in pot). 3 carrots (sliced instead of matchstick pieces). No cabbage (cooked seperately to prevent sogginess). 2 Onions (quartered). Hope this helps. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
533 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good! I also added a little garlic powder, onion powder and fresh ground pepper. I used Guinness Draught for the beer. I will definitely be making this recipe again next St. Patrick's Day. It taste just like my mom's recipe, and she's Irish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
very, very tasty, but next time I will put the veggies in about 4 hrs. not at the beginning, and I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
All agreed this was probably the best corned beef and cabbage dinner I ever made. I actually surprised myself. I have to detail what I did in this review so that I don’t forget what I did and can duplicate it the next time I make it! I started the meat alone, with a bottle of Guinness and enough water to cover, on “high” for an hour and then turned it to “low.” Three hours after I started it I added the (peeled) potatoes and carrots (no onion). Late afternoon I gave it another hour on high, then turned it back down to low. I cooked the (savoy) cabbage separately on the stovetop in some of the strained cooking liquid from the slow cooker. The meat, sliced against the grain, was tender as can be and cut into perfect slices. The potatoes, also, were cooked to the ideal tenderness. “Creamy Horseradish and Garlic Spread,” recipe also from this site, was EXCELLENT with the meat and “Grandma Andrews’ Irish Soda Bread,” also excellent I might add, rounded out this memorable St.Patrick’s Day meal. I SO wish I would have taken a picture of this gorgeous dinner, but everyone was in a big hurry to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A hint: when cooking corned beef, open the spice packet and pour the spices into a tea ball, which you then add to the pot. You get all the flavor without having to pick bay leaves and coriander seeds out of your teeth for the next couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out perfect. I highly recommend it. It was so good and so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIRAMABIFF

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States