Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My husband loved this recipe and had three helpings!!!!! After reading all the reviews, here is what I came up with: I cooked the corn beef for a total of 8 hours. The first four hours was on high and the remaining four hours on low. 1 1/2 hours towards the end, I added the cabbage. For the liquid, I used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of beef stock. I did add the beer *used budweiser) in addition to two bay leafs, one parsnips, one clove of garlic chopped, 2 tablespoons of mustard and also 1/4 cup of brown sugar in addition to all the other ingredients mentioned in the recipe. It came out perfect, very moist, and the vegetables were not mushy in the slightest! Looking forward to the leftovers on Patty's day. Can't wait to make this again, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe turned out well but I would make a couple of changes. First of all, half the amount of liquid without the beer would be plenty. I also cooked this on low all day and the potatoes were mush. So, I will add the potatoes and carrots after the corned beef has cooked for a while. The corned beef was fork tender, and in my opinion cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rann1950

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Fabulous. The corned beef cooked beautifully. I accidentally poured in the full bottle of Guinness Draught (my beer of choice for cooking), it worked out great. Also, I waited until about 4 hours in to add the carrots (I used baby carrots) and potatoes. It is a great recipe. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have this in my crock pot now. I have a smaller corned beef and still couldn't fit everything in. Only got about 3 cups of water in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is the second time I have used this recipe. Great the second time too. I use beef stock and not water. Chunkier cut carrots, more potatoes and a bit more beer. After reading some of the reviews there may be some temperature variations with slow cookers. The "High" setting may be too high for some cookers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guinnessgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I don't really care for corn beef but I still make it every year for my husband.Well I followed this reciepe and let me tell you....the best I ever had..although I didn't use the beer..easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe as written. Cooked on high 8 hours. Added cabbage last hour. My veggies were firm and delishous. Could not stop eating the corned beef. Best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janie
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
So good couldn't wait to eat!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! This is my only recipe I use for Corned Beef and Cabbage and comes out great every time! Like another reviewer said... the only liquid you need is about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water to cover the corn beef. I always put my carrots and potatoes on the bottom and onion...and then my corn beef on top use spice pack that comes with it and then the water. I cook it all day... the last hour of cooking I add my cabbage... and usually serve with Irish Soda Bread... but any bread will do! Great recipe! Make it and you'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States