Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I was cooking for a large party (12) and didn't have room for the cabbage and carrots. Instead I just put in the water, Guiness beer and 1 1/2 yellow onion cut into fourths. After the 8 hours I pulled the corn beef out of the pot, put it in a metal bowl with foil to keep it hot and added the cabbage into the slow cooker juices, letting it cook for about 20 minutes. I just cooked the carrots on the side. Don't add extra beer. Though you might think the more the merrier, it might make your meat tough or not cook as tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by startingtradition
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My first attempt at Corned Beeef & it was a hit! I didn't want mushy veggies so I only added the onion & some garlic then the meat, then a whole can of beer (cuz it was too early to drink the other 6 oz), the water & spice packet. I cooked it on low about 7 hrs, then switched to warm until we were ready to eat. It made my house smell so good, was super tender and tasted great. I can't wait to make Reuben's with the leftovers. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Excellent - made it for St. Patrick's Day 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I'm not a big fan of corned beef, but made this for my husband on St. Patrick's Day. He said it deserves five stars! Veggies were also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
6 oz of beer is pointless in 4 cups of water. add enough beer to cover meat and no water!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
A good way to prepare corned beef. The potatoes and carrots tasted amazing after cooking in the "broth" all day. Not using the can of beer was my only alteration to the recipe. This will be my go-to corned beef and cabbage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was my first corned beef attempt. It turned out great. There was so much flavor from just the meat and the season package it come with (I did not add beer). Because of the mixed reviews on time I decided to cook it on high for 8 hours as recommended. It was super easy to remove the extra fat and the meat was tender. Because I work full time I had to put the veggies in for the whole time. They were pretty soft but were still in their original shape and even held up for left over re-heatings. I have added this to my recipe box and do intend to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Very tender and moist. Third helpings for everyone. Try to get the biggest brisket you can and trim the fat. It shrinks up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Got rid of my other corn beef recipe after this one. Fantastic. I used Harp for the beer. Again, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I didn't use the beer and pretty much followed everything else in the recipe, adding the cabbage with 1.5 hours left. It was absolutely delicious!!! Didn't need the beer but I wouldn't mind trying it sometime. My 11 month old and 6 year old sons, as well as my husband and myself, totally loved it! Plus it was so easy!!! The meat melted in our mouths. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States