Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I have been making my corned beef and cabbage in the crockpot for a long time. I would rate this as the #1 best tasting food in the crockpot. I will let you all in on a little secret though. The only liquid you need to add is the water(about half to 3/4 to the top of the pot) You do not need beer, chicken broth or any other liquid for flavor. The only spice I would recommend is either the packet that comes with the corned beef or some whole peppercorns. Otherwise the meat will do all of the flavoring for you. Also, I always add my potatoes in the beginning along with the carrots and onion. They do not come out mushy at all, just very melt in your mouth tasty. You can leave them in larger pieces or you can use the small whole potatoes. Then for the last hour of cooking you can add your cabbage. Very simple meal but so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3827 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Really good-my family loved it. The only change I made was to cook it on low for 8 hours and then add the cabbage the last 1/2 hour of cooking. 8 hours on high seemed like the meat might get too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat H
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Amazingly simple, and amazingly delicious. The only changes I made were to set the slow cooker on low, instead of high. The meat came out tender and falling apart. I might put in the vegetables later on next time, but if you like stewy and smushy vegetables, then put it in the pot at the beginning. A solid hit! My boyfriend loved this dish, and it made leftovers for the two of us for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1610 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat H

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I loved this because I can put it all in the crock pot first thing in the morning, go about my day and have a wonderful completed meal when I return home at 5pm. Few observations: the recipe definitely meant to say 8 hours on LOW, I can't imagine how it would have turned out otherwise, nor can I think of any crock pot recipe that is cooked THAT long on high. Secondly, use beef broth instead of water, it gives that much more flavor. Finally, I took out the roast and let it rest for 20 minutes and threw the cabbage in. It was perfectly cooked in the 20 minutes and not soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
704 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this recipe for my first ever St. Patties with my new hubby. After reading many reviews, I decided it was too basic and made several changes to add more flavor: 3 Tbl sugar (white or brown). enough water or beef broth to submerge meat. 6 garlic cloves. 2 bay leaves. 3 Tbl butter. 12 whole Allspice. 1/2 tsp pepper. NO SALT!!!!! 5 red potatoes (instead of 10 - leaves more liquid in pot). 3 carrots (sliced instead of matchstick pieces). No cabbage (cooked seperately to prevent sogginess). 2 Onions (quartered). Hope this helps. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
617 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good! I also added a little garlic powder, onion powder and fresh ground pepper. I used Guinness Draught for the beer. I will definitely be making this recipe again next St. Patrick's Day. It taste just like my mom's recipe, and she's Irish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaneenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
All agreed this was probably the best corned beef and cabbage dinner I ever made. I actually surprised myself. I have to detail what I did in this review so that I don’t forget what I did and can duplicate it the next time I make it! I started the meat alone, with a bottle of Guinness and enough water to cover, on “high” for an hour and then turned it to “low.” Three hours after I started it I added the (peeled) potatoes and carrots (no onion). Late afternoon I gave it another hour on high, then turned it back down to low. I cooked the (savoy) cabbage separately on the stovetop in some of the strained cooking liquid from the slow cooker. The meat, sliced against the grain, was tender as can be and cut into perfect slices. The potatoes, also, were cooked to the ideal tenderness. “Creamy Horseradish and Garlic Spread,” recipe also from this site, was EXCELLENT with the meat and “Grandma Andrews’ Irish Soda Bread,” also excellent I might add, rounded out this memorable St.Patrick’s Day meal. I SO wish I would have taken a picture of this gorgeous dinner, but everyone was in a big hurry to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
very, very tasty, but next time I will put the veggies in about 4 hrs. not at the beginning, and I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out perfect. I highly recommend it. It was so good and so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIRAMABIFF

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent Recipe! We didn't use beer, but did use Low Sodium Beef Stock in place of water. Started the Corned Beef with Seasoning Packet on Low at 9:00 this morning, added the potatoes, carrots and onions at 2:00 and added cabbage at 4:00. Sat down to eat an absolute wonderful meal at 6:15. Meat was extremely tender and vegetables were perfect. This is the only way we will ever prepare this meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States