Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
If you like corned beef, this recipe is for you.I give the RECIPE 5 stars,recipe was easy and the meat came out very tender, I put the meat on early this am on low, just added water no beer and no seasonings except for the spice packet, noon added whole red spuds. Overall time was 9 hrs. However, my husband and I have never had corned beef before and didnt care for the taste/ texture of the meat. Nothing to do with the recipe. Never know til you try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great St Patrick Dinner. Cook on Low crock pot setting. Corned Beef Biscuit turned out perfect. By putting the cabbage in during the last hour, they did not cook enough. Next time I will put them in 2 hours before completion time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The best and super easy way to make corned beef! My family loved it and this will be the only way I make Corn beef for now on! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Turned out Excellent, used Stone Brewery Smoked Porter, everything was delicious! Also added Parsnips as well as carrots, with all the veggies being added for last two hours instead of under meat. Turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this up this morning and boy does it smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Have made this a few time now and every time everyone devours it. Use onion and small red potatoes but no need to matchstick the carrots - use a bag of baby carrots and just put them in whole. After pouring in an entire can/bottle of beer (whatever we have on hand but don't use a dark since it flavors the potatoes too much) I add water to top of meat. Add the spices that come with meat. I do cook it on HIGH for 8 hours and it comes out perfect - meat is falling apart and the vegetables are not mushy at all. We cook the cabbage separately on the stove - will not fit in the slowcooker and I use a 6qt for this with a 3-4lb brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was my first time making corned beef and it turned out great. I followed another users instructions and cooked it on high for an hour, turned it down to low for 3 hours, turned it back on high for 1 hour, then back to low for the remaining 3 hours. It came out perfect and so tender. Being from the Pacific Northwest, I like my veggies stew like (soft, but not mushy), so I cut my carrots up into huge 1/2 inch chunks and put them in right in the beginning. They came out perfect. I omitted the potatoes because I made colcannon (Diane's Colcannon) to go with this instead. I also substituted pear onions for the sliced onion in the recipe. Those should go in about half way through if you want to keep them closer to whole. I served it with Creamy Horseradish Garlic Spread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've been using this recipe for St. Patrick's Day for years! Great tasting and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I dont' like the stuff, made it for my hubby who said - it was good, better than average but not OMG. Leftevoers got the same response (last years recipe's leftovers were raved over)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was delicious and very easy. I confess I used beef stock not beer as the liquid and added celery and an extra bay leaf or two. I would have liked the vegetables a little bit less mushy..I think I would add them in a bit later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkinglindley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medway, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States