Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Using the changes I made brings it to 5 stars! It's hard to figure out what to do from all the mixed reviews of cooking it on high and low. I did the first hour on high, and then put it on low for the rest of the time. I used 4 cups of water and a full bottle of bud light, since I didn't want a strong flavor of beer added to the meal. The potatoes and onions were the only vegetables I put in from the start and I did not quarter/cut them at all. I added the carrots in the last 2 hours, they were still mush(they were baby carrots, so if they were thicker they may not have been so mushy). I will likely add them in the last 45mins/hour next time. I cooked the cabbage separately in a covered skillet. The end result was awesome! I will definitely refer to this recipe next year, and pair with the Irish coffee recipe for St.Patrick's Day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sbfitzge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made this for St. Paddy's day supper. After reading a few reviews I decided to add the veggies 4 hours into the cooking. I lifted the beef out to add them and noticed it was VERY tender. So at 5 hours I took the beef out and wrapped it in foil. It was perfectly tender, but I got the feeling if I'd left it in for the full 8 hours we'd have had corned beef soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
We made our St. Patricks' dinner just as the recipe states and cooked it in the crockpot for 8 hours on high. Sounded like too long at a high temperature; but we read others' reviews and did it by the recipe. It turned out wonderful. The veggies were not mushy at all and the corned beef was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Simple, moist, and delicious - with a couple of tweaks. I scoured the reviews for tips before making this dish yesterday for St Patrick's Day. Here's what worked for me: (1) Substitute low-sodium beef broth for the beer AND water. I saw the review that Guinness Extra Stout didn't work well - and that's all we had! In any event, using beef broth eliminates any concerns about which type of beer. (2) Start with just the onion, beef, and broth in the slow cooker - as others have suggested, add the potatoes and carrots about halfway through, and the cabbage 1 hour before the end. (3) Thick slices of carrots, not matchsticks. They were substantial enough to stay intact yet still melted in the mouth. (4) Yes indeed - 8 hours on HIGH, and everything turned out perfectly - nothing was dried out or overcooked. I thought that sounded like too much as well, and maybe it depends on your slow cooker temp settings. I did a bit of research - slow cooker temps vary from brand to brand but apparently the "high" setting can be as low as 200 degrees F. (I've also heard that in some models, "high" just means you get the food to the target temperature more quickly, but that the actual high & low temps are the same) . In any event - I have a Rival Crock-Pot and 8 hours on High actually worked (remember - only the beef, onions, and broth were in there for 8 hours - the veggies were in for less). Final tip: fresh horseradish is the perfect garnish, IMO. Grainy Dijon mustard also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe turned out a GREAT! Complete success my first Corned Beef. Very easy, tender and not at all dry! I was a little concerned about cooking it on High for 8 hours..I'm accustomed to using only a low setting in my crock cooking, but decided to not deviate and just go with it, Glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
It was agood recipe. JUST DON'T COOK ON HIGH 9HRS MEAT COMES OUT STRINGY AND CARROTS MUSHY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe was excellent and easy to make. My entire family enjoyed it... even the kids! I added a bay leaf, celery, pepper and a few cloves of garlic. Also, I turned the meat over halfway through the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I don't understand how this recipe could have a bad review at all. I made this for St. Patrick's day and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The best Corned Beef I ever made. Simply moist but would use the low setting and put the veggies in approximately 4 hrs in. Otherwise they are quite mushy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States