Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I've not had much luck in making corned beef and cabbage over the years, but at last this was the recipe that worked. Meat tender, veggies not cooked to mush. It got raves at our feast. I know my crock pot, so I did get the meat with liquid (no beer), spice pkt, a few peppercorns and a bay leaf and onions going first 4hrs. Then added potatoes and carrots and more onion for 3 and the cabbage last hr. But the high setting is important, do it, and you'll get a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: American Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
St. Patrick's Day has passed. This was dinner for today - 3 days after SP Day. After reading several of the reviews, I prepared this recipe last night and turned it on this a.m. I slightly precooked the potatoes and carrots in beef broth and poured them on top of the onion in the bottom of the crock. We didn't have any beer so, I used beef broth. I, also, used beef broth instead of water. Rather than cooking this on high the entire time, I started it at high for about 1 1/2 hrs. and cooked it on low for the remaining time. It did cook a total of 9 hrs. I added the cabbage and ended up cooking it on the stovetop (in juice from the pot) because it was still very crisp after 2 hrs. (We prefer our cabbage more soft.) By far, this is the best tasting corned beef we have ever tasted. The veggies were all seasoned perfectly, as well. This is a family hit and we will, most likely, begin having this dish more than once a year. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made this exactly as shown on the video & my family including my grand kids just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
First time cooking corned beef in the slow cooker. It was delicious. Very moist and tender. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
We tried it for St. Patrick's Day. It was very easy to prepare, I used a whole can of beer instead of 6 oz. It was a great success, everyone loved it. The worst part was there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Delicious. I didn't think that setting the slow cooker on high for 9 hours would work, but it worked like a charm. The corned beef was so tender. I did add a couple bottles of Guinness along with water. I also waited to add cabbage last 1-1/2 hours. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June Bug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made this for St Pattys Day, and my 17 year old son commented during dinner that he decided this is his favorite meal! (I followed the recipe almost exactly; I made it a little easier by using baby carrots (about 20) and a bag of shredded cabbage, and I used about 6 red potatoes, and cut them into bite-size pieces.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made it exactly as the recipe calls for. It was the most delicious corned beef I've ever made. This is the only recipe I will use for this meal in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I have never rated any recipes before ever, but this recipe is absolutely delicious! It is very easy. Only substitute I did was to cook on low since my crock pot cooks hot anyways and I also did not use the beer. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks for sharing lusyrsgirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was fantastic! Though I believe there is a typo-I wouldn't cook this on high for that long. I cooked 5lbs of meat in my slow cooker, (2-2.5 pkgs)added both spice packets and some fresh ground sea salt and pepper. I followed this recipe, but only used 2 cups of water. I cooked it on low for 8 hours. Added the carrots midway, and then added the cabbage for the last hour. This is our keeper recipe for corned beef in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States