Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
easy, but very very basic, almost a bit bland. i added garlic cloves and used chicken instead of ham. put the chicken in frozen and shredded it right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I added a can of cream style corn and I used frozen shredded potatoes (easier and quicker), and my family loved it. Garnish with cheddar cheese and serve with cornbread. I will definately keep this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great chowder! I changed the recipe a little. I added 2 14 oz cans of mexicorn, mushroom, and carrots, and cut the potatoes down by 2. I also used 1%milk instead and warmed it up with some flour before putting it in the crock pot and I added a cup of shredded cheese at the same time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great and easy slow cooker recipe! This one is a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
SUPER!! We used this recipe in a family cook-off and it received high scores from everyone from little kids to grandpa and grandma. Basically followed the recipe, but took into account a few other reviewers. I didn't add quite as much liquid (chicken stock), 2 cans of regular corn and 2 of creamed corn. At the end I added 1 C of heavy cream (all I had on hand). We loved this, even my picky eater son, and this will go into our soup rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I doubled this recipe and threw all the ingredients for this in my crockpot. I used homemade chicken broth, about three cups, added a can of creamed corn and used up the last remains of my Christmas ham (including the bone). I also added a little Frank's, for just a touch of heat. TIP: Want to thicken up your soup just a little? Use the last of your mashed potatoes that were leftover. Keeps with the theme of the soup and cleans out your fridge at the same time. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good! I substituted the evaporated milk for 1/2 and 1/2 and I added Sriracha for some heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! That is all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Made a few changes - used only 1 onion, skipped the ham since I didn't have any as well as the celery (which I just don't like,) 1 can corn + 1 can creamed as per other's reviews (though next time I might even add another can of corn, but drain it,) used chicken broth instead of water & added in corn starch & half & half per other reviews. Only problem w/ mine (& it was my fault) was putting to much chicken broth in so it was more of a soup texture than chowder texture. But overall good tasting & will make again - it's a good & relatively easy crockpot recipe & was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is great! Perfect for a cold night served with biscuits. I wouldn't do anything to change this recipe. Two thumbs up for the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States