Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This soup was a bit watery for my taste. I could have thickened it up with a flour/milk mixture but I didnt want to take away from the original recipe too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I had to make a few revisions to this recipe, and that is why I rated it 4 stars instead of 5. I used a bag of frozen corn instead of canned (all I had). From the beginning, I could tell that this would be more of a soup than a chowder, so I did add a cornstarch/water slurry and used an immersion blender for half of the soup at the end. This helped it thicken. I think that next time, I'll use even less broth for cooking. I added marjoram, basil and oregano to season. Very filling - and I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Yummy, I did add roasted red pepper and it was very good! I've made it a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Fabulous recipe!! My husband loved it!!!!!!!! I will definitly use this recipe more often now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Easy, delicious and destined for the "family favorite" list! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Loved this recipe, did not add the milk, even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was a great recipe to use for a guidline. I did everything the recipe said, but only one onion which was more than enough. I also added: carrot,extra can of corn cream style,touch of garlic, and sage. Also I only cooked for 5 hrs on high. Also I used only chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. I would add slightly less liquid next time as this turned out to be more soupy than chowdery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Made this for a large group and everyone loved it. I so appreciated all the reviews and included some of the suggestions when I made it, like adding a can of creamed corn and not putting the ham in till about 2-3 hours before it was done. As it was getting closer to the end I also tried to mash the potatoes a bit with a potato masher just to make the chowder a bit less chunky. Overall this was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I would make this again. I added a can of creamed corn as well as garlic and dried basil. I also added 1/2 pound of Velveeta cheese during the last 30 minutes of cooking. I added the can of milk in the beginning had no issues in the end. My kids liked it, that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States