Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this was ok not anything special. I have never had corn chowder so I dont really have anything to judge the taste by. We love corn and especially creammed corn. I think maybe t would be better if it was made with creammed corn instead of whole kernel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was very watery and bland. I added TWO cans of creamed corn and 1 can of water and it was still watery. I tried to thicken it up with some flour, but it didn't really help. You could barely taste the corn. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 31Mommy.of.4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We loved this! I just added about a 1/3 cup flour lightly sprinkling and stirring in the last hour when it seemed too watery. I also substituted with bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketilheartscontent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Was in the mood for corn chowder & this looked like a good place to start. Here are the changes I made: Made 6 slices of bacon (reserved it for the top); Used a little of the bacon grease to saute the onions; Added some carrots; Added some crushed red pepper; Added can of cream corn; Omitted the ham; Used one vegetable bullion & one chicken bullion (ran out of chicken). Next time I think I will drain the corn and add a little of instant mashed potatoes if it is thick at the end. I served it with bacon, cheese & osyter crackers. My kids loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Very good - husband and 5-year-old both ate three bowls of it. My changes - from reading comments: added a can of creamed corn, added some dried sage, did not use water/bouillon to cover - instead used 1 cup of chicken broth, made it without ham - added a little crumbled bacon and shredded cheese when serving, added a .5 tsp of corn starch when added can of evap milk. Great consistency. Hardest part was chopping the potatoes, which I left the skin on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I used 7 potatoes since mine seemed on the small side, only one onion, 2 tsp. Better than Bouillon instead of the chicken bouillon cubes, along with all the other ingredients called for except the ham. I covered with 2 cups water and cooked on HIGH for 3 hours. Then I added the ham for another hour. Before adding the evaporated milk, I removed 1 cup broth. At the end I mashed just a few of the potatoes. I added a little salt and white pepper. We enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good, but not great. We served it in bread bowls which was fun and added some needed thickness to the broth. I used chicken broth rather than water, and omitted the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe. My family liked it better than I did, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was my first time making corn chowder. It was delicious! Great recipe! Here were my changes: I used a slice of bacon, not ham. I added cubed chicken as the meat. I used 2 cans of chicken broth, covered the veggies in water, and used 2 chicken bouillon cubes. To season, I used paprika, a little sage, a little hot sauce, mustard powder, salt, and pepper. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
as many others mentioned, you need to SERIOUSLY doctor this to make it good and i wish i had done that. If you make as listed it is not creamy and lacks flavor. Adding flavor after cooking as directed didnt help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States