Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I enjoyed this one quite a bit. Like another reveiewer on here I am also from Louisiana (Slidell to boot)I cajunized it a little. I put in some cajun seasonings and instead of ham I used tasso (which, to you uninitiated, is a lean, cured, cajun pork). I also thickened it a bit with a dash of corn flower. This ones going to be a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very good chowder. Here are the changes I made. Added only 1 cup water. Added 2 finely chopped carrots. Only used 1 onion. Used 3 bullion cubes. Added chopped garlic and Emeril's spice. Added a can of creamed corn. Added about 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese at the same time as the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynWright

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
A hearty and easy soup. I added only one cup of water, instead of "water to cover" as the recipe called for. Along with the liquid from the corn and what cooked out of the vegetables and the milk added at the end, that was enough to make a nice thick chowder. As others had suggested, I added an additional can of cream-style corn for more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
We loved this recipe. I also added a box of frozen corn and a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This "chowder" was very flavorful. I did, as others suggested, and used one can of regular corn and one can of creamed corn. I did find this chowder to be very thin and "liquidy". I tried thickening it by putting a few cups of it in the blender before adding the milk. This helped a little but not nearly enough. Next time I make this, I will not only blend some, but I will add much less water. As other reviewers recommended, I topped the individual servings with some grated cheddar cheese. I also added some fresh chives and some crumbled bacon which added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I used smoked turkey sausage instead of ham, and added carrots, & 1/4 lb velveeta. Hubby liked it, and it had good flavor just nothing to write home about. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Very simple. Very Good! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Our family enjoyed this chowder! The suggestion of adding shredded cheddar cheese was a good one. We added it on top of our soup at the dinner table. We may double the amount of corn next time, but otherwise a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This was quite good - I used only one onion (not a huge fan) added one more can of corn and a can of creamed corn, then added cornstarch in to thicken...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I loved this soup. It smelled so good cooking in the crock pot all day, I had a hard time staying out of it. I would try another can of corn next time. I think it just needed that little bit extra. I also added some flour to the soup to thicken it, along with added some chedder cheese to it at the end. Just to melt the cheese. My husband and son are not big soup eaters, but each went back and ate 3 bowls. I had no leftovers... Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOJOBEECH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkport, New York, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States