Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was an excellent meal on a cold winter's night! We substituted apple sausage for the ham which added to the flavour. I left the water about 1 inch below covering (recipe says to cover) and the texture was rich an creamy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I cooked this for 8 hours on low, came home and added the evaporated milk and let it cook for another 30 minutes like the recipe said, but it was still quite watery, so I added some cornstarch. Next time, I'll also add twice as much ham, but that's just a personal preference. All in all it was a good week night meal. A little more prep time in the morning than I like, but I made it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I made this recipe pretty much just as specified, and agree with many other reviewers-- it needed something more and it's more of a soup. I used Yukon gold potatoes since that's what I keep on hand. My only subsitutions were a little less onion, since I'm not a big onion person and skimmed evaporated milk. Next time I make this (and I will, because my husband loves corn chowder) I will not use water and bouillon cubes but a can of low sodium broth, more corn (and I'll try the can of creamed corn), 2% evaporated milk for a little more richness, and I'll cut the butter in half. Maybe add a little extra ground pepper. Serve it with crumbled crispy bacon, cheddar cheese, and scallions as toppings and it would be great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Very hearty, easy enough to prepare and smelled great cooking. Also, it was nice to try something a little different from our standard fare, but it was missing something. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My family really liked this recipe although I used a bag of frozen corn instead of a can and added a can of creamed corn. Very good on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Great recipe! Of course, I made changes with what I had on hand: Less onion, as some people suggested, I added chopped red bell pepper, I used thawed frozen corn, and instead of regular potatoes, I used sweet potatoes (not yams!). I was worried all day what it would taste like with such a big substitution, but it was great! I love slow-cooker recipes because I work all day & it's nice to come home to a hot meal! I even prepared this one the night before & put it in the refrigerator overnight & placed the crock into the base & plugged it in in the morning before I left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
After reading the reviews on this, I used the more flavorful Yukon Gold potatoes, used a can of chicken broth;INSTEAD of the water, added 1/4 tsp.thyme, dash of ground cayenne, extra cup of canned corn, some bacon bits and some green onion in place of SOME of the second onion. I didn't use "salt-cured ham" but rather sugar-cured and smoked, so mine was not too salty at all. I cooked ON HIGH hoping it wouldn't take as long since I started only 5 hours til dinner time. It STILL TOOK 6 hours to cook the celery(I regret just chopping;would of cooked quicker sliced THINLY) and potatoes til soft. I think it had a very good flavor except there was too much sweet onion flavor for our tastes; even though I used SKIMMED evaporated milk. I did add about 2/3 cup of 1/2% milk also, to help make the skimmed a little creamier. It would have been better if I had used whole evaporated milk like recipe called for; but too much fat for my family. Thank you, for sharing. I now know, how to SLOW cook, WITHOUT CURDLING, chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This turned out great. You do have to be careful not to add too much liquid. It would be easy to end up with runny, thin soup. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and they held up very well after being in the crock pot nearly 11 hours. I also used 1 cup of fat-free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of evaporated milk. Will make again. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was pretty tasty. Here are the changes I made--2 med. size red pot., not peeled; 1 onion; 2 stalks celery; 1 can creamed corn; drained corn; 1/4 c. low fat marg.; 1 c. water. 2 cubes bouillon made this too salty. Next time I'll use 1 can low salt chicken broth and omit water. My husband thought this was ok but he's not a fan of stew for dinner. I'll still make this again though because it's different and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I enjoyed this one quite a bit. Like another reveiewer on here I am also from Louisiana (Slidell to boot)I cajunized it a little. I put in some cajun seasonings and instead of ham I used tasso (which, to you uninitiated, is a lean, cured, cajun pork). I also thickened it a bit with a dash of corn flower. This ones going to be a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States