Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. I thought the broth was far too thin, I had to add corn starch and it was still missing something...definitely not enough corn. I would probably not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This was a big hit in my house. I added some leftover asparagus toward the last half hour, and it was a colorful addition. My kids especially liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Delicious. I added more ham to mine, and it doesn't really have enough corn to be called a "corn chowder". Make sure to pick the small waxy potatoes, I used baking potatoes for mine and it wasn't bad, but could have had a better mouth feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I thought this was very good. I used already cooked and cubed potatoes - the"Simply Potatoes" brand instead of peeling and cubing raw potatoes. Worked well. I would add less water than this recipe called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was an excellent meal on a cold winter's night! We substituted apple sausage for the ham which added to the flavour. I left the water about 1 inch below covering (recipe says to cover) and the texture was rich an creamy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I cooked this for 8 hours on low, came home and added the evaporated milk and let it cook for another 30 minutes like the recipe said, but it was still quite watery, so I added some cornstarch. Next time, I'll also add twice as much ham, but that's just a personal preference. All in all it was a good week night meal. A little more prep time in the morning than I like, but I made it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I made this recipe pretty much just as specified, and agree with many other reviewers-- it needed something more and it's more of a soup. I used Yukon gold potatoes since that's what I keep on hand. My only subsitutions were a little less onion, since I'm not a big onion person and skimmed evaporated milk. Next time I make this (and I will, because my husband loves corn chowder) I will not use water and bouillon cubes but a can of low sodium broth, more corn (and I'll try the can of creamed corn), 2% evaporated milk for a little more richness, and I'll cut the butter in half. Maybe add a little extra ground pepper. Serve it with crumbled crispy bacon, cheddar cheese, and scallions as toppings and it would be great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Very hearty, easy enough to prepare and smelled great cooking. Also, it was nice to try something a little different from our standard fare, but it was missing something. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
My family really liked this recipe although I used a bag of frozen corn instead of a can and added a can of creamed corn. Very good on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Great recipe! Of course, I made changes with what I had on hand: Less onion, as some people suggested, I added chopped red bell pepper, I used thawed frozen corn, and instead of regular potatoes, I used sweet potatoes (not yams!). I was worried all day what it would taste like with such a big substitution, but it was great! I love slow-cooker recipes because I work all day & it's nice to come home to a hot meal! I even prepared this one the night before & put it in the refrigerator overnight & placed the crock into the base & plugged it in in the morning before I left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States