Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I thought this was delicious! Next time I will use another tin of corn, though, and proper evaporated milk (didn't have any so used fresh milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
To be honest, I rarely follow a recipe to the letter unless I am baking, but I did use this one as the starting point for my potato-corn chowder and thought I'd share my modifications because it turned out great! First, I used russet potatoes, but left the skins on for the extra nutrients and rustic feel. I also added some chopped carrots and a couple of cloves of garlic, and used a whole bag of frozen corn. I used chicken stock rather than water and did not cover the vegetables. For spices, I added a good dose of kosher salt and black pepper, some ground sage, and a little crushed red pepper for a little kick. After the 8 or so hours of cooking, I ladled about 3 cups of the stock out of the crock pot, made a roux, added the stock to it along with the condensed milk, let it thicken for about 4 or 5 minutes and then added it back to the crock pot and let it cook for another 30 minutes. It was delightful! Perfect for the snowy day we're having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My family loved this recipe! Great for a cold winters night like tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I thought this was veeery good. The butter gave it a chowdery flavor.It does make a lot but my hubby and I love leftovers. Did not have ham, so I cooked a chicken and threw that in. Also, I used frozen corn a lots of it. I also thickend the soup a little, it turned out great, good meal for a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was great. Added 4 oz of mushrooms that were going off, and thickened the soup with a cornstarch slurry. I agree with the extra can of corn suggestion. Really an easy and enjoyable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome recipe! It is a great dish to feed a crowd, accompanied with sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
An average Chowder that's very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a good starter recipe. However, there are a few things I change that makes it a very good chowder. First, I use an extra can of corn and change it to cream style. Next, the ham became too rubbery. So, I now I boil chicken and shred it. I then boil the potatoes in the chicke water for about ten minutes. Then, I mash them just slightly. This makes them much softer and adds to the texture of the chowder. Finally, I add corn starch to thicken the broth. It sounds like a lot of work, but really it's not. It makes fantastic chowder, and I always double the recipe. That way I can freeze the leftovers and have anther meal or two on hand for those days when cooking seems like too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chere Kennaugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. It basically tasted like a thin, tasteless potato soup. I only used 4 potatoes too, because I knew there was going to be too many... I even tried to thicken it up with milk and flour, and added frozen corn instead of canned (hate canned). I also used my homemade chicken broth instead of boullion. I might try to liven up the leftovers, (and there are A LOT of leftovers) but I'm not sure it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was very tasty! I also took other reviewers advice and added some cornstarch to it. I served it with cheddar cheese on top of it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States