Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I thought this was veeery good. The butter gave it a chowdery flavor.It does make a lot but my hubby and I love leftovers. Did not have ham, so I cooked a chicken and threw that in. Also, I used frozen corn a lots of it. I also thickend the soup a little, it turned out great, good meal for a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was great. Added 4 oz of mushrooms that were going off, and thickened the soup with a cornstarch slurry. I agree with the extra can of corn suggestion. Really an easy and enjoyable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome recipe! It is a great dish to feed a crowd, accompanied with sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
An average Chowder that's very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a good starter recipe. However, there are a few things I change that makes it a very good chowder. First, I use an extra can of corn and change it to cream style. Next, the ham became too rubbery. So, I now I boil chicken and shred it. I then boil the potatoes in the chicke water for about ten minutes. Then, I mash them just slightly. This makes them much softer and adds to the texture of the chowder. Finally, I add corn starch to thicken the broth. It sounds like a lot of work, but really it's not. It makes fantastic chowder, and I always double the recipe. That way I can freeze the leftovers and have anther meal or two on hand for those days when cooking seems like too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. It basically tasted like a thin, tasteless potato soup. I only used 4 potatoes too, because I knew there was going to be too many... I even tried to thicken it up with milk and flour, and added frozen corn instead of canned (hate canned). I also used my homemade chicken broth instead of boullion. I might try to liven up the leftovers, (and there are A LOT of leftovers) but I'm not sure it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was very tasty! I also took other reviewers advice and added some cornstarch to it. I served it with cheddar cheese on top of it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Great Recipe! My husband ate the leftovers and he NEVER does that! I used chopped, smoked sausage instead of ham. Next time, like other reviewers, I will use less water (or canned chicken broth) and real cream, or half & half instead of evaporated milk. Loved the smell when I got home from work! I did all prep the night before; except potatoes, so it was very easy in the morning. I plan on making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. I thought the broth was far too thin, I had to add corn starch and it was still missing something...definitely not enough corn. I would probably not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This was a big hit in my house. I added some leftover asparagus toward the last half hour, and it was a colorful addition. My kids especially liked it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States