Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was awesome. I did add a can of creamed corn. Also I used 6 oz of heavy whipping cream and 6 oz of skim milk. Also added a rue of 2 tbsp corn starch mixed w/a little water to the milk. Cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 5 hours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good with the additions of some spices that other reviews suggested-salt, pepper (I used cayenne), parsley, sage, and crushed garlic. It's not a 5-star recipe but it's good for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
DELICIOUS. Made a few changes though based on my tast and what I had on hand. Used Chicken broth instead of water. Sauteed onions, celery, potatos, carrots and several cloves of garlic in butter before placing in the crock pot. Added a bag of frozen corn, a can of creamed corn and 1/2 a ring of kielbasa with salt, pepper, and marjoram. Wow what a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great, easy recipe. I use chicken instead of ham (Organic skinless boneless legs, more flavor) and to thicken I add a square package of frozen winter squash. it sweetens it a bit, thickens it, and is healthier than corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made this corn chowder today for supper. It is excellent. This is my third time making this recipe. The first two times I made it I used ham in it but today I decided to put shredded rotisserie chicken in it. I also used some of the other reviewers suggestions such as addding carrot and using 1 can of cream style corn in it. I also used chicken broth instead of water and bouillion. I also added some spices to it. I added marjoram, sage, basil and oregano and I made a slurry with two tablespoons of cornstarch with a little bit of water and added that in with the milk. It turned out awesome. It was was very creamy and a little thick the perfect consistency. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bagley-Dutil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I saw this recipe in my email this morning as the recipe of the day. Not knowing what to cook for dinner, I thought...great I have all those ingredients...I'll give it a go. In 20 minutes I had it in the crock pot. As others suggested, I added 2 cloves garlic and 4 diced carrots and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used 1 can of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I added the ham about an hour before serving. I had no evaporated milk, so I added about 1/4 cup skim milk and a fairly large "blob" of sour cream. I added quite a bit of pepper and no additional salt. I also stick blended about 1 1/2 cups of the soup just before serving. Perfect consistency and delicious. Outstanding and will make again. Great way to use a little leftover ham which had been in my freezer since Thanksgiving!! Thank you Donald B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Good to start, but you can substitute bacon in a pinch and I added baked butternut squash cubed and it added flavor and hidden vitamins the kids didn't realize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I'm a pensioner living in the UK and before tinned sweetcorn arrived here we made soup using a ham hock which we simmered gently for hours until the meat fell off the bone. The cooked ham was diced, put to one side then mixed in with the soup along with a swirl of cream when serving. The other ingredients (excluding corn, salt & evaporated milk) and using leeks when available, were simmered in the bacon stock until cooked. This Potato & Ham soup was a family favourite. I have made it all my life but about 30 or so years ago when tinned corn became readily available I starting adding this sometimes for a change. I'm only giving this 4 stars because I don't think the diced ham can give anything like the strong bacony flavour of cooking your own on the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
this was more like a soup than a chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Maybe I made this wrong, but it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States