Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I saw this recipe in my email this morning as the recipe of the day. Not knowing what to cook for dinner, I thought...great I have all those ingredients...I'll give it a go. In 20 minutes I had it in the crock pot. As others suggested, I added 2 cloves garlic and 4 diced carrots and used chicken broth instead of water. I also used 1 can of corn and 1 can of creamed corn. I added the ham about an hour before serving. I had no evaporated milk, so I added about 1/4 cup skim milk and a fairly large "blob" of sour cream. I added quite a bit of pepper and no additional salt. I also stick blended about 1 1/2 cups of the soup just before serving. Perfect consistency and delicious. Outstanding and will make again. Great way to use a little leftover ham which had been in my freezer since Thanksgiving!! Thank you Donald B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Good to start, but you can substitute bacon in a pinch and I added baked butternut squash cubed and it added flavor and hidden vitamins the kids didn't realize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I'm a pensioner living in the UK and before tinned sweetcorn arrived here we made soup using a ham hock which we simmered gently for hours until the meat fell off the bone. The cooked ham was diced, put to one side then mixed in with the soup along with a swirl of cream when serving. The other ingredients (excluding corn, salt & evaporated milk) and using leeks when available, were simmered in the bacon stock until cooked. This Potato & Ham soup was a family favourite. I have made it all my life but about 30 or so years ago when tinned corn became readily available I starting adding this sometimes for a change. I'm only giving this 4 stars because I don't think the diced ham can give anything like the strong bacony flavour of cooking your own on the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
this was more like a soup than a chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Maybe I made this wrong, but it was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was excellent - usually I'm not a big fan of corn chowder but DH really likes it so I tried it and everyone really liked this! I only made one change, like many I added a can of creamed corn in addition to the other can of corn - we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious! I used less potoatoes as we are trying to reduce our carbs and increased the corn. The milk at the end was a great feature to add creaminess to the chowder. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent. Only made minimal changes; first I did add a can of creamed corn to more creamy corn flavor. I was hesitant to add all the water called for b/c of other reviews, but I did add enough to cover slightly and ended up adding a bit more since there was so much stuff in the crock, it really needed the liquid to be a soup instead of ham and veggies floating in a teeny bit of water! Also added just a bit of garlic but other than that wonderful flavor, I don't think it was bland at all (making sure you have adequate chicken boullion, salt and pepper) it tasted exactly what I was hoping a corn chowder would taste like, corny and creamy! I also did add diced carrots with the celery, I thought they were on there but when I went to make it apparently there are no carrots called for. Added barely a t of cornstarch, maybe 1/2 t, before done just to make sure it was nice and creamy, not overly thick. I will definately make this again and again! Was a breeze to throw in the crock in the morning and have a great hearty chowder when I came home. Also did not peel potatoes, completely unneccessary and a waste of time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was delish! I used Chicken Broth instead of water I used 1 can corn and 1 can creamed corn. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Maybe I'm an idiot, but I've made this recipe twice and failed both times! The first time was my fault, I didn't read the directions carefully enough and added the evaporated milk at the beginning. But the second time I followed it perfectly and it tasted really watered down. Well it really had no flavor. I'm not giving this a third try. I'll just try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States