Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Pretty good. Needs more corn and less potatoes. Less water and more milk. Made us pee a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I agree with many others that this is a good starting place for corn chowder. I used 2 lbs of uncooked, cubed chicken instead of ham, and left out the bouillon. Following the advice of many other reviewers, I just added a cup and a half of water, instead of covering the veggies, and then used 2 cups of heavy cream and 3 Tbsp corn starch after it had cooked for 8 hours. It is AMAZING with sourdough bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joderita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Wonderful chowder. So simple to make and the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Grove, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kure Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Love it! My husband and I ate all of the leftovers. I can't wait to tinker with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a great soup to come home to after a long day of work. I did modify it a bit, to make it vegetarian. Left out the ham, and used veggie bouillon instead of chicken for my kids sake. Sprinkled a little cheese on it when serving and we were all pretty impressed. (although hubby and I both agree it would've been better with the meat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe! I am just learning to cook and so I chose this recipe because it has simple ingredients, and little work. What I also like about this recipe is that it is easy to add or remove items to your tastes. I typically make it with bacon as this is what I have on hand. I also find that adding a second can of cream corn is good, especially if you don't have or don't want to use the milk. Very yummy! Smells and tastes excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this was ok not anything special. I have never had corn chowder so I dont really have anything to judge the taste by. We love corn and especially creammed corn. I think maybe t would be better if it was made with creammed corn instead of whole kernel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was very watery and bland. I added TWO cans of creamed corn and 1 can of water and it was still watery. I tried to thicken it up with some flour, but it didn't really help. You could barely taste the corn. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 31Mommy.of.4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We loved this! I just added about a 1/3 cup flour lightly sprinkling and stirring in the last hour when it seemed too watery. I also substituted with bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketilheartscontent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Was in the mood for corn chowder & this looked like a good place to start. Here are the changes I made: Made 6 slices of bacon (reserved it for the top); Used a little of the bacon grease to saute the onions; Added some carrots; Added some crushed red pepper; Added can of cream corn; Omitted the ham; Used one vegetable bullion & one chicken bullion (ran out of chicken). Next time I think I will drain the corn and add a little of instant mashed potatoes if it is thick at the end. I served it with bacon, cheese & osyter crackers. My kids loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States