Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
This chowder was really good on a winter day, but did need all day to soften the potatoes. I only made a few alterations; 2(11oz)cans of corn; l can of chicken broth(instead of bouillon) & of course Cajun seasoning (instead of salt & pepper), since I'm from LA. SDamare(Slidell,LA)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I had vegetarian friends over for dinner, so I didn't add the ham. I worried that it would taste bland, but it was great. I definately needs the full 8 - 9 hours otherwise the potatoes won't be done. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
Dh really liked this recipe. I thought is was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This was really good, but I did change things a little. I used chicken stock to cover in place of the water and bouillon. I added a couple cloves minced garlic, in place of the evaporated milk, I used half and half and sprinkled some sharp cheddar and chives on top before serving. Very easy and very good. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This recipe was great. I love corn, so it was perfect. I changed a couple things though: 3 cans of corn (two whole cernal, one cream style), no celery (yuk), and used turkey ham rather than pork ham. I also added corn starch when I added the evap. milk to thicken the chowder. I also added hot peppers, cumin, chili powder and any other seasonings I love. PERFECT CHOWDER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I used already cubed ham and frozen kernel corn. I loved the broth because it was light but so flavorful. It is also lower in fat & calories but you wouldn't know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Great chowder! I would add another can of corn next time though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
Very good and easy. It was too thin for our liking. I transfered it to a pot and added a box of Jiffy Corn Bread mix and let it simmer for fifteen minutes and it was perfect. It reheats great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
My family liked this and it was simple to make. Would like to thicken it up a little though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
chowder was very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States