Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Great recipe! Of course, I made changes with what I had on hand: Less onion, as some people suggested, I added chopped red bell pepper, I used thawed frozen corn, and instead of regular potatoes, I used sweet potatoes (not yams!). I was worried all day what it would taste like with such a big substitution, but it was great! I love slow-cooker recipes because I work all day & it's nice to come home to a hot meal! I even prepared this one the night before & put it in the refrigerator overnight & placed the crock into the base & plugged it in in the morning before I left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
After reading the reviews on this, I used the more flavorful Yukon Gold potatoes, used a can of chicken broth;INSTEAD of the water, added 1/4 tsp.thyme, dash of ground cayenne, extra cup of canned corn, some bacon bits and some green onion in place of SOME of the second onion. I didn't use "salt-cured ham" but rather sugar-cured and smoked, so mine was not too salty at all. I cooked ON HIGH hoping it wouldn't take as long since I started only 5 hours til dinner time. It STILL TOOK 6 hours to cook the celery(I regret just chopping;would of cooked quicker sliced THINLY) and potatoes til soft. I think it had a very good flavor except there was too much sweet onion flavor for our tastes; even though I used SKIMMED evaporated milk. I did add about 2/3 cup of 1/2% milk also, to help make the skimmed a little creamier. It would have been better if I had used whole evaporated milk like recipe called for; but too much fat for my family. Thank you, for sharing. I now know, how to SLOW cook, WITHOUT CURDLING, chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This turned out great. You do have to be careful not to add too much liquid. It would be easy to end up with runny, thin soup. I used Yukon Gold potatoes and they held up very well after being in the crock pot nearly 11 hours. I also used 1 cup of fat-free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of evaporated milk. Will make again. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was pretty tasty. Here are the changes I made--2 med. size red pot., not peeled; 1 onion; 2 stalks celery; 1 can creamed corn; drained corn; 1/4 c. low fat marg.; 1 c. water. 2 cubes bouillon made this too salty. Next time I'll use 1 can low salt chicken broth and omit water. My husband thought this was ok but he's not a fan of stew for dinner. I'll still make this again though because it's different and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I enjoyed this one quite a bit. Like another reveiewer on here I am also from Louisiana (Slidell to boot)I cajunized it a little. I put in some cajun seasonings and instead of ham I used tasso (which, to you uninitiated, is a lean, cured, cajun pork). I also thickened it a bit with a dash of corn flower. This ones going to be a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very good chowder. Here are the changes I made. Added only 1 cup water. Added 2 finely chopped carrots. Only used 1 onion. Used 3 bullion cubes. Added chopped garlic and Emeril's spice. Added a can of creamed corn. Added about 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese at the same time as the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynWright

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
A hearty and easy soup. I added only one cup of water, instead of "water to cover" as the recipe called for. Along with the liquid from the corn and what cooked out of the vegetables and the milk added at the end, that was enough to make a nice thick chowder. As others had suggested, I added an additional can of cream-style corn for more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
We loved this recipe. I also added a box of frozen corn and a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This "chowder" was very flavorful. I did, as others suggested, and used one can of regular corn and one can of creamed corn. I did find this chowder to be very thin and "liquidy". I tried thickening it by putting a few cups of it in the blender before adding the milk. This helped a little but not nearly enough. Next time I make this, I will not only blend some, but I will add much less water. As other reviewers recommended, I topped the individual servings with some grated cheddar cheese. I also added some fresh chives and some crumbled bacon which added some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I used smoked turkey sausage instead of ham, and added carrots, & 1/4 lb velveeta. Hubby liked it, and it had good flavor just nothing to write home about. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States