Slow Cooker Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Very good recipe. I always use a ham steak (bone-in) and it comes out great. It's good to see the Baking Soda. I'm from the south and my mother taught me that the Baking Soda will take out any bitter in the greens. My greens always come out smokey and sweet. If cooking on top of the stove, use a 1/2 tsp of Baking Soda the last 15-20 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I used kale and home grown turnip greens, smoked turkey leg and leftover smoked chicken leg, and chicken broth. There's a spice now called Roadkill Grill in a grinder. A few twists and no need for jalepenos or black pepper! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I use the baking soda in mine also. Just like in cooking beans -- it helps out with the "gas" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Haven't tried it yet, but I shall -- with one minor change: since we do not eat pork I'll substitute the ham shanks with either smoked turkey pieces, or a cured, smoked beef tongue. (I cooked some collards for a New Year's party that I catered many years ago. Used the whole tongue and was able to slice it up to serve as an extra side dish. Got raves for both the greens and the meat...!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have certain physical limitations and I use my crock pot often. This recipe came out delicious, even my husband loves it.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My changes: I microwaved a 2-lb bag of pre-cut and pre-washed fresh collards in 2 batches for 5 minutes each with 1/4 c chicken broth each -- just so they'd fit in the crock pot. I omitted the soda and salt, and used a leftover meaty ham bone and sliced the meat off in huge chunks. I also added 1/2 coarsely chopped onion, 1/4 cup vinegar, 1 tsp red pepper flakes (instead of the jalapenos), and 2 fresh minced garlic cloves (instead of the garlic powder). I used 6 cups fat-free no-added-salt chicken stock (in total) since I like the liquid to cover the greens. Tossed this with the olive oil in the crockpot. Thanks TROMTE, Kimmy, and denisett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Thank you for your recipe post this is the best way to cook collards. It was easy and I was not stuck in the house for a whole day and I actually cooked them longer for more tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used this recipe for the slow cooker method and I used the Kickin' Greens for the actual recipe. I used bacon grease vs. olive oil and sauted the onion and garlic then added two pounds of collard greens. I used a dandoodle (VA/NC seasoned meat), water not chicken broth, and red pepper flakes. After 45 minutes on the stove, the greens were bitter so I added 1T. brown sugar and 1 T. apple cider vinegar. I transferred the greens to a slow cooker and let it sit in the fridge overnight with the dandoodle which provides the seasonings. I cooked the greens on low for 4-6 hours and kept adding brown sugar to eliminate the bitterness. Overall, I probably added 1/4 c. brown sugar and 2 T. apple cider vinegar for the 2lbs. of fresh collard greens. My BIL uses honey vs. brown sugar. Definitely a keeper! Delicious and this slow cooker method does not make the greens turn to mush but I prefer the fresh onions and garlic of the kickin' collard green recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I used smoked turkey legs and instead of boiling the meat on the stove first, I threw everything into the crockpot. I put in 2 cups of chicken broth and cooked on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
unbelivable good and easy. It came out perfect I was able to make it ahead of time and in the crock pot it frees up a burner on the stove for other things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States