Slow Cooker Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is great. I made this with frozen collard greens and skipped first step. Super flavor, not very hot even with jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mona
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter never had any interest in collards, now - when I ask her if she has any special request for holiday meals.... Crock Pot Collards I think it's the jalepeno peppers that make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierpont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I used smoked turkey legs and instead of boiling the meat on the stove first, I threw everything into the crockpot. I put in 2 cups of chicken broth and cooked on low for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THIS IS THE CORRECT WAY TO COOK GREENS! EVEN WITH THE VARIANCE OF SPICES USED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used this recipe for the slow cooker method and I used the Kickin' Greens for the actual recipe. I used bacon grease vs. olive oil and sauted the onion and garlic then added two pounds of collard greens. I used a dandoodle (VA/NC seasoned meat), water not chicken broth, and red pepper flakes. After 45 minutes on the stove, the greens were bitter so I added 1T. brown sugar and 1 T. apple cider vinegar. I transferred the greens to a slow cooker and let it sit in the fridge overnight with the dandoodle which provides the seasonings. I cooked the greens on low for 4-6 hours and kept adding brown sugar to eliminate the bitterness. Overall, I probably added 1/4 c. brown sugar and 2 T. apple cider vinegar for the 2lbs. of fresh collard greens. My BIL uses honey vs. brown sugar. Definitely a keeper! Delicious and this slow cooker method does not make the greens turn to mush but I prefer the fresh onions and garlic of the kickin' collard green recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
For those of us who love greens year-round, the slow cooker is the perfect stove-top antidote during A/C season. These simple ingredients produced a complex, layered taste: spicy, savory, smoky. (I've used fresh garlic and jalapenos) A+ for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Perfect. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Kimmy, is the one with the right idea for these greens. WOW! These are the best greens I've made! Replacing the ham with smoked neck bones, 2 different seasonings, & adding as you go is the way. I used crushed red pepper instead of j-peppers..delicious. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
unbelivable good and easy. It came out perfect I was able to make it ahead of time and in the crock pot it frees up a burner on the stove for other things
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States