Slow Cooker Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This is great. I made this with frozen collard greens and skipped first step. Super flavor, not very hot even with jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THIS IS THE CORRECT WAY TO COOK GREENS! EVEN WITH THE VARIANCE OF SPICES USED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
For those of us who love greens year-round, the slow cooker is the perfect stove-top antidote during A/C season. These simple ingredients produced a complex, layered taste: spicy, savory, smoky. (I've used fresh garlic and jalapenos) A+ for ease of preparation and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
this was a great recipe..but i made so many changes that it evolved into a recipe of my own creation. first i omitted step 1 and the baking soda. next, i put in smoked turkey necks and seasoning(old bay and tony chacherre's creole seasoning) and the greens at the same time. next i piled on the greens(i conbined collard and mustard)!! i let them cook down for an hour and then put in the extra greens that didn't fit at first. i stirred every hour or so and added seasoning to taste. i cooked for 5hrs the night before and then 3hrs the day of thanksgiving, by doing that the seasonings had asorbed really well and the greens were tender and flavorful!! hope this helps a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Perfect. Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
While the taste was still banging, it was not a good fit for me. I used vinegar instead of baking soda. I would also recommending passing up the cooking before putting into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Broad Brook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mona
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This recipe is wonderful. My daughter never had any interest in collards, now - when I ask her if she has any special request for holiday meals.... Crock Pot Collards I think it's the jalepeno peppers that make the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierpont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Yummy! All I can say, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States