Slow Cooker Coconut Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I could only give this three stars because as written, it is pretty bland, soupy and tasteless. However, the hubby and I both love curry so I experimented and came up with what I believe is a 5-star dish. I used two cans of 13.5oz coconut milk, about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, about 1 cup matchstick carrots, diced yellow potatoes, 3 yellow onions diced, about 1 tblsp freshly ground black pepper, 1/4 cup plus 2 tblsp curry, 1 tblsp of chopped garlic and sea salt to taste. I did not dice the chicken breasts since the slow cooker makes the chicken so tender. The last hour I added the red bell pepper, about a 1 and half cups of sweetened flake coconut and the cornstarch which probably wasn't needed but did thicken it a bit more. I then served it over white rice made with milk, water and butter. These changes made this an awesome dish though probably not very low calorie. However, the flavor was perfect and reminded me of a good vegetarian Vietnamese dish (basically veggies in a coconut broth). I know I could have made this without the crock pot but am always looking for slow cook recipes to help with busy schedules. Cook on Sunday, eat leftovers most of the week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I made this today exactly as it said in the recipe, we loved it. Thanks mikeyv, will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Peterlee, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
i substitued shrimp (added when peppers were added) and used vegetable broth. it was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Best slow cooker recipe I have ever found! Usually I hate using slow cookers because they never come out the same as if I cooked it traditionally. I made this exactly to the recipe and served it over jasmine rice. My whole family loved it, including my kids ages 6 and 8. This one is definitely a keeper and will come in handy for those busy afternoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of adding more bell peppers. Maybe I am just accustomed to spicy food, but I found this dish to be extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wonderful! I served this with some rice and it was so flavorful and satisfying. My husband loved it, he was a little miffed that I took some leftover for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was a good base curry recipe if you are starting to try curries. Loved the fact that it was made in the crockpot. We will make this again, but add more kick to it next time. Even the kids that do not like heat said that it was just bland. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bland as in no flavor, it just needs a boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MLKENNEDY67
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Great recipe for someone learning how to make a delish curry. I've always had to go out for something like this since my family isn't too big on "exotic" food. My 10 and 12 year old daughters and hubby LOVED it, even our 12 year old neighbor who stayed for dinner. The only thing I changed was to use a can of chicken broth rather than 1 cup, this way I had a lot more of the yummy gravy to enjoy with my naan. Will definitely make this again, especially the next covered dish night I host.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLKENNEDY67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this today, and I enjoyed it. I added more bell peppers - different colors to make it look a little more appetizing. Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe as stated. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
It sounded so good, and I like all of the components, but man, it was hard to eat. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out to taste very strongly of curry powder and nothing else. In an effort to not waste the entire dish, my husband and I sprinkled some cashews on top of our servings and that helped a lot - to make it edible - but after eating it once, I was not up for working my way through all those leftovers. I imagine that the curry powder is a big variable. There is such a range of strengths from one to the next that I wonder if the one I used was just way too powerful or something? I would recommend starting with a smaller amount of curry powder than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States