Slow Cooker Coconut Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made this twice, once with the original recipe and once with suggested changes. Both were bland and disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made the recipe as is, but added the raisins in with the bell pepper so they would plump up. I served it over jasmine rice. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Hankinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This ended up really bland. It smelled amazing but everyone that tasted it (5 adults) said it needed more flavor. I was bummed. Next time I am going to add pineapple and a few more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've made this several times and every time I'm surprised at how good it is! My husband loves it too and there is always plenty for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
It was very easy to make. I may leave out the raisins next time for the people who aren't raisin lovers. Thanks for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a good, basic curry recipe. I love curry, but I've been hesitant to actually try making one - glad I took the chance on this. I realized too late that I had forgotten the potatoes, but since I added some fresh mushrooms, I didn't really miss the spuds. And after tasting mid-way through cooking, I did add a bit of chipotle-garlic olive oil to kick up the spice a little. (I am always so amazed - and dismayed - by the reviews I read complaining of "blandness." One person's bland is another's 5-alarm fire, and it's ALWAYS up to the cook to taste along the way and adjust seasonings accordingly!) After making the house smell wonderful during cooking, I served this over rice with coconut flakes and cashews sprinkled on top - wonderful late lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe for Chicken Curry lovers! I added one can of pineapple chunks and a trio of colored peppers, red, orange, yellow to kick up the visual appeal. I also had a can of thick coconut cream (Trader Joes)on hand so I threw in two large spoonfuls of that for extra richness but the recipe is great as is. I used skin on browned chicken thighs as that is what I had on hand and the meat just fell off the bone and was very tender. If you like a colorful dish use your food processor and mince some carrot up fine then add the last twenty minutes of cooking time. This is good served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
It won't let me give zero stars. This recipe was terrible! So bland. I had to add so many things to it to make it edible. Glad I only wasted one pound of chicken, not the two it has listed. It wouldn't have made enough sauce anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
A little bland, maybe more pepper next time, but everything turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was decent, but nothing great. I made it exactly as written, using just over 2 pounds of chicken breasts, 2 "White Rose" potatoes, a white onion, and the chicken broth was made from a bouillon cube dissolved in a cup of boiling water. This made a lot of food - I served it over cooked brown "Texmati" rice, and it lasted for 5 meals. I prefer really hot curries, so even with 1/4 cup of curry powder here, I found the flavors slightly bland. It was good enough - just didn't wow me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States