Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Great and simple. A word of warning: Do NOT use a smokey BBQ sauce with lil smokeys. Use a sweet bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thekelleys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I have been making these for years. The only thing I do differently is mix equal parts grape jelly, BBQ sauce and ketchup. This also works just as well with cut up beef hot dogs. Adults and kids alike love these. I love them especially because they're fast, easy and can be prepared in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I have been making these for parties for years! People can't seem to get enough of these. I always use apricot jelly but I'm sure grape works just fine too. These little things seem to be addictive no matter how you make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I have to write this!!! Why would you rate this recipe and say ..." I used chili sauce and jellied cranberry sauce." That is not t reviewing this recipe, but is a recipe on its own. Hey, I used roast beef and dry onion soup mix. Just as ridiculous! Come on, if you can't review a recipe , leave it alone. Just saying..........,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I have been making this for 15 years. My x-wife had this recipe. Funny to see it again here. Nobody believs me when I say I used grape jelly in it. I take it to pot lucks all the time and it is one of the first dishes to go. Just took it to a b day party last month and when my girlfriend saw me putting grape jelly in with the links a sause, she grosed out and said no way she would eat it, and that I ruined the links she spent all that money on. After hearing all the great revievs from party goers she decided to give it a shot. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
u can also make this with a jar of chili sauce and a can of thanksgiving cranberry jelly. both are also good with little cocktail sized meatballs. i too agree how addictive this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
A household hit for any occaision! I use equal parts of grape jelly and BBQ sauce. I also make this with prepared meatballs from the grociery store. This is also good using both meatballs and lil smokies. Just make sure the sauce covers the meat. This gives a little more variety when making for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinaat1013

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is in the crockpot as we speak. It's not a holiday without these wonderful little gems. I did saute a little onion and garlic in butter, then added the grape jelly and my own homemade barbeque sauce and peppered it up a bit before pouring over the Lil' Smokies. OMNOM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I was very skeptical about this recipe so I tested it first. Funny how the taste changes as it cooks. After an hour the smoky flavor from the bbq sauce was so overwhelming I thought this was a big mistake but after 2 hours the smokiness was slight and balanced and delicious. I couldn’t believe it. I reheated them the next day in the microwave oven and they were still perfect. Strange but this works !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love these little yummy appetizers and have eaten many sauce variations, but my favorite is a combination of grape jelly, catsup, pineapple, a little sugar and......diced jalapenos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States