Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have hated oatmeal my entire life because of the mushy texture, but I loved this! I didn't have apples on hand so I used some apple butter I made this past fall. I cut back on the water so it would have a more hardy texture. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and I think it is wonderful! I did do a few tiny changes but I think that if I had made none at all it still would be great....first and formost, I think that this recipe should be made during the day the first time. Slow cookers vary so much that it is a good idea to be able to keep an eye on it. I know that my old slow cooker would have probably burned this recipe, as it was my new one worked out perfectly as directed. The only changes I made was to use 3 apples (instead of 2) I added 1/2 cup of raisins, and lastly I grated in the rind of 1 lemon. I ate this cold for breakfast and I felt like I was eating a wonderful, delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this last night....Did have to substitute apple juice for the apple sauce as i didn't have any. Added another apple and threw in a banana that was ripe and needed to be used up. Didn't have sweetener so I just used a tbsp of brown sugar.Cooked on low for about 5 hours,then popped the whole thing in the fridge overnight. Warmed up bowl this morning and it was awesome!! BIG cinnamon taste, so the only thing I would say is use less if you're not sure, I love cinnamon so I thought it was great! And I cut the recipe in half and still have enuff for 5 breakfasts, divided it up and put in the freezer-soo easy to take to work!! Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For one was thought she didn't like oatmeal, this recipe has become my favorite breakfast meal. I make a batch and eat it all during the week. it's so tasty I forget that its even oatmeal. To give it a little kick I add walnuts right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
What a perfect breakfast to have on a weekday morning in the winter! It is warm and filling and comforting and so nice to have it ready in the morning. I added dried, mixed and chopped fruit instead of the apples. I thought it needed some salt to counter the sweet so I added 1/2 a teaspoon. I also added two tablespoons of olive oil to round out the texture and add MUFAs (monounsaturated fatty acids)to the meal. With these two additions, it was absolutely five stars! I used the steel cut oats and sprayed the pot and it did not stick. I will so be making this again and again. Thanks for posting it Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I followed one of the reviews to make the recipe smaller. The one for the 1 quart cooker. It was absolutely delicious! I don't like steel cut oats but will eat them now because of the recipe. I added a handful of raisins to the recipe. It was so good I ate a whole bowl. I also now have breakfast for the next 2-3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pasta69302
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Tweeked it a bit, using 3 apples, 7 cups of water instead of 8 cups, and used 1 tbsp of Splenda brown sugar. Added a few bananas and a ton of raisins. Husband never liked oatmeal but he tried it and wants to know when I'm going to make again! Freezes beautifully too. It will be a regular. Brought to work and everyone wanted the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very yummy. Will try with 7 cups of water because was liquid and I add two cups of cooked oatmeal from stovetop to help soak some of it up. Also 1/4 cup of cinnamon is a bit much. Will add less next time. I did 2 Grannie's and 1 Red delicious, got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRADEE8U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It was good, but not amazing for me. I think this may be partly due to the sugar substitute. The oatmeal was sweet, but left a weird aftertaste. We actually sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before serving and that helped to balance it out. When I first started dishing it out it seemed very runny to me, but after it sat for a min it actually thickened up to a consistency we liked, but it if we had added milk like we usually like to do it would have been too runny again. My daughter really did not like how the apples turned out, they were total mush. Overall it was a good recipe but I probably wont make it again. I will stick to the flavor free varieties and let everyone add their own toppings/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States