Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and I think it is wonderful! I did do a few tiny changes but I think that if I had made none at all it still would be great....first and formost, I think that this recipe should be made during the day the first time. Slow cookers vary so much that it is a good idea to be able to keep an eye on it. I know that my old slow cooker would have probably burned this recipe, as it was my new one worked out perfectly as directed. The only changes I made was to use 3 apples (instead of 2) I added 1/2 cup of raisins, and lastly I grated in the rind of 1 lemon. I ate this cold for breakfast and I felt like I was eating a wonderful, delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So good. My kids ate leftovers after dinner the same night. I will use less water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I would have given it a 4.5 but I didn't have that option. This was tastey. I did change it a bit to use what I had on hand. I used homemade apple butter, I had previously canned, and omitted the extra sugar. I also only had one granny smith apple so I used it and one gala. It has a nice apple tartness to it. When eating it, my husband and I added a bit of splenda while 3 children choose agave and 1 choose white sugar. I like my oatmeal a little thinker so next time (and their will be a next time) I will use a little less water. Otherwise, yummy start to a Friday fall morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Based on one review, I did reduce the water to 7 cups, and it cooked up beautifully. Little too heavy on the cinnamon for our taste, so I will cut that back a little in the future. By reducing the amount of water, it did cook a little faster than indicated, so mine was done in about 4 hours. Garnished with freshly-sliced apples and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Packaged and in the freezer for quick weekday breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
What a perfect breakfast to have on a weekday morning in the winter! It is warm and filling and comforting and so nice to have it ready in the morning. I added dried, mixed and chopped fruit instead of the apples. I thought it needed some salt to counter the sweet so I added 1/2 a teaspoon. I also added two tablespoons of olive oil to round out the texture and add MUFAs (monounsaturated fatty acids)to the meal. With these two additions, it was absolutely five stars! I used the steel cut oats and sprayed the pot and it did not stick. I will so be making this again and again. Thanks for posting it Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this last night....Did have to substitute apple juice for the apple sauce as i didn't have any. Added another apple and threw in a banana that was ripe and needed to be used up. Didn't have sweetener so I just used a tbsp of brown sugar.Cooked on low for about 5 hours,then popped the whole thing in the fridge overnight. Warmed up bowl this morning and it was awesome!! BIG cinnamon taste, so the only thing I would say is use less if you're not sure, I love cinnamon so I thought it was great! And I cut the recipe in half and still have enuff for 5 breakfasts, divided it up and put in the freezer-soo easy to take to work!! Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I guess I'm the lone person who didn't like this recipe. I think it's because I'm so used to the sugary instant oatmeal that I needed more sugar. I used brown sugar instead of the sweetener but will add more next time. I will also use some almond milk to substitute for some of the water to make it more creamy. But I'll definitely give it one more shot. But for now, it didn't float my boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For one was thought she didn't like oatmeal, this recipe has become my favorite breakfast meal. I make a batch and eat it all during the week. it's so tasty I forget that its even oatmeal. To give it a little kick I add walnuts right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really good. I added 1 more apple and some yellow raisins and omitted the sweetener. Did 3 cups apple sauce and 3.5 cups water and it cooked for 7 hours. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States