Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I would have given it a 4.5 but I didn't have that option. This was tastey. I did change it a bit to use what I had on hand. I used homemade apple butter, I had previously canned, and omitted the extra sugar. I also only had one granny smith apple so I used it and one gala. It has a nice apple tartness to it. When eating it, my husband and I added a bit of splenda while 3 children choose agave and 1 choose white sugar. I like my oatmeal a little thinker so next time (and their will be a next time) I will use a little less water. Otherwise, yummy start to a Friday fall morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and I think it is wonderful! I did do a few tiny changes but I think that if I had made none at all it still would be great....first and formost, I think that this recipe should be made during the day the first time. Slow cookers vary so much that it is a good idea to be able to keep an eye on it. I know that my old slow cooker would have probably burned this recipe, as it was my new one worked out perfectly as directed. The only changes I made was to use 3 apples (instead of 2) I added 1/2 cup of raisins, and lastly I grated in the rind of 1 lemon. I ate this cold for breakfast and I felt like I was eating a wonderful, delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I had to doctor this recipe ALOT! It was WAY TOO runny and tasteless. I would use a lot less water or maybe substitute milk if you like a creamier oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So good. My kids ate leftovers after dinner the same night. I will use less water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have hated oatmeal my entire life because of the mushy texture, but I loved this! I didn't have apples on hand so I used some apple butter I made this past fall. I cut back on the water so it would have a more hardy texture. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Its a wonderful recipe. Very quick and easy, with staples usually on hand. Although, my husband and I felt it did NOT need ant sweetener. I did use 1/4 cup splenda, and I am sorry I did. I will make this again but without any sweetener. Also, when I first took the cover off, it was definitely soupy, but as it stood and cooled off a bit, it thickened up just fine! A nice healthy addition would be some toasted walnut pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot and next time I might add a couple more fresh apples as I'm an apple addict. Based on other reviews I reduced the amount of water to just under 7 cups and it came out just right. Cooked overnight on low (6 hours) and then let it rest on warm until I was awake and ready for breakfast. The oatmeal closest to the sides of the crockpot was a bit overdone, but that was minor and I didn't stir this at all while it was cooking, so what else would I expect. Will make this again for sure. Great winter breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For one was thought she didn't like oatmeal, this recipe has become my favorite breakfast meal. I make a batch and eat it all during the week. it's so tasty I forget that its even oatmeal. To give it a little kick I add walnuts right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Based on one review, I did reduce the water to 7 cups, and it cooked up beautifully. Little too heavy on the cinnamon for our taste, so I will cut that back a little in the future. By reducing the amount of water, it did cook a little faster than indicated, so mine was done in about 4 hours. Garnished with freshly-sliced apples and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Packaged and in the freezer for quick weekday breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this last night....Did have to substitute apple juice for the apple sauce as i didn't have any. Added another apple and threw in a banana that was ripe and needed to be used up. Didn't have sweetener so I just used a tbsp of brown sugar.Cooked on low for about 5 hours,then popped the whole thing in the fridge overnight. Warmed up bowl this morning and it was awesome!! BIG cinnamon taste, so the only thing I would say is use less if you're not sure, I love cinnamon so I thought it was great! And I cut the recipe in half and still have enuff for 5 breakfasts, divided it up and put in the freezer-soo easy to take to work!! Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States