Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For one was thought she didn't like oatmeal, this recipe has become my favorite breakfast meal. I make a batch and eat it all during the week. it's so tasty I forget that its even oatmeal. To give it a little kick I add walnuts right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot and next time I might add a couple more fresh apples as I'm an apple addict. Based on other reviews I reduced the amount of water to just under 7 cups and it came out just right. Cooked overnight on low (6 hours) and then let it rest on warm until I was awake and ready for breakfast. The oatmeal closest to the sides of the crockpot was a bit overdone, but that was minor and I didn't stir this at all while it was cooking, so what else would I expect. Will make this again for sure. Great winter breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Its a wonderful recipe. Very quick and easy, with staples usually on hand. Although, my husband and I felt it did NOT need ant sweetener. I did use 1/4 cup splenda, and I am sorry I did. I will make this again but without any sweetener. Also, when I first took the cover off, it was definitely soupy, but as it stood and cooled off a bit, it thickened up just fine! A nice healthy addition would be some toasted walnut pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have hated oatmeal my entire life because of the mushy texture, but I loved this! I didn't have apples on hand so I used some apple butter I made this past fall. I cut back on the water so it would have a more hardy texture. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So good. My kids ate leftovers after dinner the same night. I will use less water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I had to doctor this recipe ALOT! It was WAY TOO runny and tasteless. I would use a lot less water or maybe substitute milk if you like a creamier oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and I think it is wonderful! I did do a few tiny changes but I think that if I had made none at all it still would be great....first and formost, I think that this recipe should be made during the day the first time. Slow cookers vary so much that it is a good idea to be able to keep an eye on it. I know that my old slow cooker would have probably burned this recipe, as it was my new one worked out perfectly as directed. The only changes I made was to use 3 apples (instead of 2) I added 1/2 cup of raisins, and lastly I grated in the rind of 1 lemon. I ate this cold for breakfast and I felt like I was eating a wonderful, delicious dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen n

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I would have given it a 4.5 but I didn't have that option. This was tastey. I did change it a bit to use what I had on hand. I used homemade apple butter, I had previously canned, and omitted the extra sugar. I also only had one granny smith apple so I used it and one gala. It has a nice apple tartness to it. When eating it, my husband and I added a bit of splenda while 3 children choose agave and 1 choose white sugar. I like my oatmeal a little thinker so next time (and their will be a next time) I will use a little less water. Otherwise, yummy start to a Friday fall morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States