Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
My first attempt at slow cooked oatmeal, and this came out pretty well but a bit on the bland side initially. I took another reviewers advice and grated some lemon zest into it (towards the end) because that was my final taste test to fix it and it did the trick. It gave it a bit of dimension, which is just what it needed. Oh and I used brown sugar in place of the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
What a perfect breakfast to have on a weekday morning in the winter! It is warm and filling and comforting and so nice to have it ready in the morning. I added dried, mixed and chopped fruit instead of the apples. I thought it needed some salt to counter the sweet so I added 1/2 a teaspoon. I also added two tablespoons of olive oil to round out the texture and add MUFAs (monounsaturated fatty acids)to the meal. With these two additions, it was absolutely five stars! I used the steel cut oats and sprayed the pot and it did not stick. I will so be making this again and again. Thanks for posting it Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very runny and Tasted a little sour. Maybe next time wont use as much water and will try with different kind of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Made this last night....Did have to substitute apple juice for the apple sauce as i didn't have any. Added another apple and threw in a banana that was ripe and needed to be used up. Didn't have sweetener so I just used a tbsp of brown sugar.Cooked on low for about 5 hours,then popped the whole thing in the fridge overnight. Warmed up bowl this morning and it was awesome!! BIG cinnamon taste, so the only thing I would say is use less if you're not sure, I love cinnamon so I thought it was great! And I cut the recipe in half and still have enuff for 5 breakfasts, divided it up and put in the freezer-soo easy to take to work!! Thanks for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMIMITCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Based on one review, I did reduce the water to 7 cups, and it cooked up beautifully. Little too heavy on the cinnamon for our taste, so I will cut that back a little in the future. By reducing the amount of water, it did cook a little faster than indicated, so mine was done in about 4 hours. Garnished with freshly-sliced apples and a sprinkle of brown sugar. Packaged and in the freezer for quick weekday breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
For one was thought she didn't like oatmeal, this recipe has become my favorite breakfast meal. I make a batch and eat it all during the week. it's so tasty I forget that its even oatmeal. To give it a little kick I add walnuts right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot and next time I might add a couple more fresh apples as I'm an apple addict. Based on other reviews I reduced the amount of water to just under 7 cups and it came out just right. Cooked overnight on low (6 hours) and then let it rest on warm until I was awake and ready for breakfast. The oatmeal closest to the sides of the crockpot was a bit overdone, but that was minor and I didn't stir this at all while it was cooking, so what else would I expect. Will make this again for sure. Great winter breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Its a wonderful recipe. Very quick and easy, with staples usually on hand. Although, my husband and I felt it did NOT need ant sweetener. I did use 1/4 cup splenda, and I am sorry I did. I will make this again but without any sweetener. Also, when I first took the cover off, it was definitely soupy, but as it stood and cooled off a bit, it thickened up just fine! A nice healthy addition would be some toasted walnut pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have hated oatmeal my entire life because of the mushy texture, but I loved this! I didn't have apples on hand so I used some apple butter I made this past fall. I cut back on the water so it would have a more hardy texture. Awesome! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
So good. My kids ate leftovers after dinner the same night. I will use less water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States