Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Tasty, easy recipe. I added dried cranberries as suggested by another reviewer. Husband added brown sugar to his as this version wasn't sweet enough for him. I scaled the recipe down from the original 10 to 4 servings, and used a Honeycrisp apple. Very good, overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Somehow it ended up tasting like wallpaper paste. Like a gummy, watery substance with some tart apples floating around in it. Not really a comfort food. Maybe it was supposed to be a low calorie, diet oatmeal with all of the water & splenda??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
It is a soup. I used exactly half of all ingredients...(double and triple checked)...I have it on high now to evaporate some liquid.I believe it will be thicker when cool. janet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I scaled it down for my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 cup steel cut oats 2 cups water, 20 oz applesauce, 3 small apples, 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp brown sugar. I also added a handful of dried cranberries. Cooked it on low for 8 hours and it turned out perfectly. Very hardy breakfast. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
this was really good and while we love cinnomin...a quarter cup is alot!!! will use less next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really good. I added 1 more apple and some yellow raisins and omitted the sweetener. Did 3 cups apple sauce and 3.5 cups water and it cooked for 7 hours. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
It was okay. I had to add more spices and sugar because my kids and I didn't really like it as is. I'll look for other recipes before trying this one again. It was easy to make though. Oh, and I did use Gala apples instead of granny smith since that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Way too much cinnamon for me. Couldn't eat it. A waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I did not have luck with this recipe. I made it as is with the exception of using less water based on other reviews. I used only 6 cups of water, and it still came out VERY runny and thin. The taste was ok. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britney

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Alexandria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I guess I'm the lone person who didn't like this recipe. I think it's because I'm so used to the sugary instant oatmeal that I needed more sugar. I used brown sugar instead of the sweetener but will add more next time. I will also use some almond milk to substitute for some of the water to make it more creamy. But I'll definitely give it one more shot. But for now, it didn't float my boat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States