Slow Cooker Cinnamon Apple Steel Cut Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
smelled great. didnt care for the taste...a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Very yummy. Will try with 7 cups of water because was liquid and I add two cups of cooked oatmeal from stovetop to help soak some of it up. Also 1/4 cup of cinnamon is a bit much. Will add less next time. I did 2 Grannie's and 1 Red delicious, got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRADEE8U

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Not sure what went wrong, but mine turned out like apple soup and I followed recipe exactly. I could have used 2 cups of water and maybe this would have better. I even cooked about 3 hours longer, to try and thicken up, and all that did was make the oatmeal stick to the sides. :-( hubby said, at least the house smells good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pasta69302
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! Tweeked it a bit, using 3 apples, 7 cups of water instead of 8 cups, and used 1 tbsp of Splenda brown sugar. Added a few bananas and a ton of raisins. Husband never liked oatmeal but he tried it and wants to know when I'm going to make again! Freezes beautifully too. It will be a regular. Brought to work and everyone wanted the recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
It was good, but not amazing for me. I think this may be partly due to the sugar substitute. The oatmeal was sweet, but left a weird aftertaste. We actually sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before serving and that helped to balance it out. When I first started dishing it out it seemed very runny to me, but after it sat for a min it actually thickened up to a consistency we liked, but it if we had added milk like we usually like to do it would have been too runny again. My daughter really did not like how the apples turned out, they were total mush. Overall it was a good recipe but I probably wont make it again. I will stick to the flavor free varieties and let everyone add their own toppings/additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was too runny and had too much cinnamon. If I make it again I will cut back on those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I followed one of the reviews to make the recipe smaller. The one for the 1 quart cooker. It was absolutely delicious! I don't like steel cut oats but will eat them now because of the recipe. I added a handful of raisins to the recipe. It was so good I ate a whole bowl. I also now have breakfast for the next 2-3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this recipe with no substitutions and none of the family gave it a thumbs up. The taste was bland. The positive side is that it's filled with ingredients that are healthy. -Liz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
While I love cinnamon, it is clear just looking at the recipe that 1/4 cup is waayyy too much! I scaled it back to 1 tablespoon and put the cinnamon shaker on the table when I served the oatmeal so my family could add more to their bowl if they chose to. Beyond that, the water seemed like too much as well, so I scaled that back to 7 cups. I don't use artificial sweeteners, so I added some brown sugar, I just added a bit to the recipe to get it started, then had honey, white sugar and brown sugar on the table for my family to add to their own bowls as they chose, allowing them to adjust it to their own personal level of sweetness. I often add raisins or cranberries to this meal as well. With these few changes, this is definitely a 5 star breakfast and it is soooo wonderful to wake up the heavenly smell of this oatmeal in the mornings! I should also add, I only make this when I am feeding a bunch of people. If it's just me, the microwave is my go to appliance - it works beautifully too! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a very convenient make-ahead oatmeal recipe. I'll admit I made a mistake right off the bat though. I misread the ingredients and thought that it called for apple juice instead of apple sauce. I didn't realize what I'd done until I had everything in the crock pot already. I did reduce the water to 7 cups, and I used two BIG Honey Crisp apples. I also tossed in a cup of fresh cranberries, and about 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. I cut the cinnamon back to 2 Tbsp and I used real sugar. This only took 4 1/2 hours to cook. I stored it in a Tupperware bowl in the fridge for quick breakfasts this week. The oatmeal eaters in my house all approve. Next time, I'll make it with the apple sauce and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States