Slow Cooker Cider Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Very easy and was a bit hit. best part it was in the crock pot and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliCat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My family really enjoyed this dish, I used some of the sauce to make up a quick gravy to pour over the pork. a definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy_richelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I prepared this exactly as the recipe says and it came out very bland tasting. Too much water; couldn't taste any effect from the cider or the apple or the garlic or the pork for that matter. I'll try it again, but will definitely take into account some of the suggestions from others: less water, more other things. And why use a processor? It only added time and trouble without contributing to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Not bad, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Here are the modifications I did. I don't typically measure, I just do to taste. I added Ginger, Cinnamon, Clove, and Rosemary at the 5 hour mark. We ended up adding more corse salt and black pepper as well. The biggest help was the 2 - 3 tbps of dark brown sugar. Keep in mind if you want to serve this as a solid peice of meat then cook it around 5 hours on low and I would add less water. My family loves it when crock pot meals fall apart. This was very very tender at the 5 hour mark and falling to pieces at the 7 hour mark. I really enjoyed cooking it and having it for dinner! Thank you for the recipe! I hope my tips help! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I tried this with a whole chicken and added 2 apples, and stuffed another in the bird. Was able to make a puree of the apples and carrots. It was awesome, and very flavorful. I did not use water, but added chicken broth. The chicken was falling off the bone and I added rice to the crock pot about an hour before and had a complete meal! My daughter complained the chicken didn't taste like chicken, but it was very tasty! It was very sweet so I may use 2 cans of broth next time and just a cup or two of apple cider. I found with the chicken that I needed to add some more cider later to have enough liquid for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good. Meat was tender and flavorful. Could have a few more spices...haven"t experimented yet. I like to dip my pork in applesauce- so that was my extra touch. Made them w/ a side of fingerling mashed potatoes. Everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This an excellent base recipe. Except for leaving out the water I followed the recipe to the "T" and found, like others have mentioned, the flavor a bit bland. A bit of salt and a couple spices in the sauce might help, as well as the addition of either nutmeg or cloves to the flour mixture. I'm glad I left out the water; it would have added too much moisture and further weakened the flavors. All in all, this is definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This roast was very good. I added a couple of potatoes and a can of chick peas so I didn't have to make anything else. Only disappointment: You don't taste the apple or the apple cider at all. My family liked it a lot, but if you're looking for an apple flavour, it's not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmaman Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
We did not like this meal. It had too much sauce and altho I only used 2 cups of apple coder and no water it was tasteless. I will not cook this again. Also don't cook it for more than 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jskcmoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States