Slow Cooker Cider Applesauce (No Sugar Added) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Had a bunch of apples (different varieties) that needed to be used up. Added 1/2 cup water, because it started to stick. Took about 3 1/2 hours on high. Used immersion (stick) blender to blend it all up. I needed to add 2-3 tablespoons of brown sugar after tasting. I think because of the different varieties of apples used - it was a bit tart/sour than it normally would have been. I love that it has NO added sugar and you can adjust accordingly if needed. Super easy and the house smells fab. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Slow Cooker Applesauce NSA Haiku: "If you add sugar, it is NOT this recipe. This is great as is!" There is a comparable recipe on here for a spiced applesauce in the slow-cooker that calls for sugar, so make that if you want the extra sweetness, otherwise, this recipe is just perfect the way it's written! The only thing that I did was add about 1/2" of water at the start, and ohhhgosh after a little while, the smell was wonderful. Ran my immersion blender through it to serve to the baby, and I had mine straight from the crockpot warm w/ some plain Greek yogurt and a sprinkle of granola. GOOD STUFF, thanks Cookingfor7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Sailerbabe
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Fantastic. I used Granny Smith and pink apples, ginger, lemon zest and small amounts of cinnamon and all spice. House smells great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a REALLY good and easy applesauce! I used 5lbs of Honey Crisps we picked two months ago that were just starting to get soft. I cooked this on low for 8 hours, and then cooked it for another hour with the lid off the crock as the applesauce was VERY soupy. I am used to sweet applesauce, and find this has a bit of a bite to it in addition to the sweetness, and I'm just not sure I love that. I added 1/2 packet of Truvia to the portion I just ate, and that softened the kick. If you're looking for an overly and overtly sweet applesauce, this isn't for you....but it is FULL of flavor and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Made just as directed. I did add a touch of Cran/Apple juice to keep it from sticking. I used an immersion blender to whip it up. I'm now going to freeze it in small portions for my mother-in-law to enjoy over the winter. And I agree with another reviewer-if you add sugar you're making a completely different recipe. My M-I-L is diabetic and I didn't want to add any sugar. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern-Dave Slotman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used a mix of Mutsu, Pink Lady, Fugi and Goldrush and let me tell you, it was AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Ok. The point of this recipe is its sugar free. So those who added sugar have created a different applesauce and really shouldn't have commented here. I am looking for a sugar free applesauce and this recipe exactly as it is, is perfect. Even the water is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Just made this recipe today. It turned out great! I had a ton of apples that were given to me and no way to eat them fast enough. This recipe turned out delicious, and did not need any sugar. I only cooked it for 3.5 hours (it was definitely done by then), and I added 1/2 cup water at the start so it wouldn't stick (which it was doing). I'm definitely making this again! It's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tossed the apples with a tablespoon of lemon juice (to prevent browning and to give it a little tartness) and added a quarter cup brown sugar to this recipe. I also used a combination of apples and even threw in a couple overripe pears! Very nice. GREAT for using in baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Just finished this and it is out of this world! You honestly don't miss the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Taquitos

Check out these creamy and spicy taquitos!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States