Slow Cooker Cider Applesauce (No Sugar Added) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used 12 Ginger Goldens,and 3 Honey Crisp along with 1 1/2 cups of Apple Cider. Slow cooked on low for 7 hrs before blending it in our food processor then canned them in 4 pint jars. No Sugar Added!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingmomof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Ok. The point of this recipe is its sugar free. So those who added sugar have created a different applesauce and really shouldn't have commented here. I am looking for a sugar free applesauce and this recipe exactly as it is, is perfect. Even the water is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookingfor7
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Try using a variety of apples for a wonderful cider blend. We've used Gala, Jonagold, Fuji, and Granny Smiths at different times and they all cook up beautifully! This applesauce truly is wonderful without adding any sugar! The spices and flavors from the apples themselves give it a rich, sweet blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingfor7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I added a little brown sugar and about a half cup of water to this recipe, and it turned out fabulous. Cooked on Low for about 5 hours. The whole house smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elroy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Just made this recipe today. It turned out great! I had a ton of apples that were given to me and no way to eat them fast enough. This recipe turned out delicious, and did not need any sugar. I only cooked it for 3.5 hours (it was definitely done by then), and I added 1/2 cup water at the start so it wouldn't stick (which it was doing). I'm definitely making this again! It's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tossed the apples with a tablespoon of lemon juice (to prevent browning and to give it a little tartness) and added a quarter cup brown sugar to this recipe. I also used a combination of apples and even threw in a couple overripe pears! Very nice. GREAT for using in baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This applesauce came out just wonderful, very tangy/sweet and flavorful. I used a bunch of different varieties of wild apples picked from the woods and by the roadside around my house. I especially loved that it was a bit chunky when done. While slicing the apples, I tossed them in a few drops of lemon juice to prevent them from browning. I also threw in a couple teaspoons of brown sugar for a bit more sweetness. Thanks for offering this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gage Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Made just as directed. I did add a touch of Cran/Apple juice to keep it from sticking. I used an immersion blender to whip it up. I'm now going to freeze it in small portions for my mother-in-law to enjoy over the winter. And I agree with another reviewer-if you add sugar you're making a completely different recipe. My M-I-L is diabetic and I didn't want to add any sugar. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern-Dave Slotman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Slow Cooker Applesauce NSA Haiku: "If you add sugar, it is NOT this recipe. This is great as is!" There is a comparable recipe on here for a spiced applesauce in the slow-cooker that calls for sugar, so make that if you want the extra sweetness, otherwise, this recipe is just perfect the way it's written! The only thing that I did was add about 1/2" of water at the start, and ohhhgosh after a little while, the smell was wonderful. Ran my immersion blender through it to serve to the baby, and I had mine straight from the crockpot warm w/ some plain Greek yogurt and a sprinkle of granola. GOOD STUFF, thanks Cookingfor7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Just finished this and it is out of this world! You honestly don't miss the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Taquitos

Check out these creamy and spicy taquitos!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States