Slow Cooker Cider Applesauce (No Sugar Added) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used 12 Ginger Goldens,and 3 Honey Crisp along with 1 1/2 cups of Apple Cider. Slow cooked on low for 7 hrs before blending it in our food processor then canned them in 4 pint jars. No Sugar Added!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingmomof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I added a little brown sugar and about a half cup of water to this recipe, and it turned out fabulous. Cooked on Low for about 5 hours. The whole house smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elroy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookingfor7
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Try using a variety of apples for a wonderful cider blend. We've used Gala, Jonagold, Fuji, and Granny Smiths at different times and they all cook up beautifully! This applesauce truly is wonderful without adding any sugar! The spices and flavors from the apples themselves give it a rich, sweet blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingfor7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Sweet & Spicey best ever applesauce. And since there is no added sugar my husband can eat it. He has to watch the added sugars in his diet. My daughter & I can't wait to make it again. Debbie B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Heavener, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This recipe turned out absolutely delicious! The only things I added were a handful of brown sugar and about a 1/2 c of water. I also used three different kinds of apples which really made it yummy (Golden Delicious, Fuji, and Honey Crisp). This was so easy and made my entire apartment smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Made the applesauce sooo!! good, used left over applesauce and made mini apple pies with crescent rolls!!Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This applesauce came out just wonderful, very tangy/sweet and flavorful. I used a bunch of different varieties of wild apples picked from the woods and by the roadside around my house. I especially loved that it was a bit chunky when done. While slicing the apples, I tossed them in a few drops of lemon juice to prevent them from browning. I also threw in a couple teaspoons of brown sugar for a bit more sweetness. Thanks for offering this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Just finished this and it is out of this world! You honestly don't miss the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tossed the apples with a tablespoon of lemon juice (to prevent browning and to give it a little tartness) and added a quarter cup brown sugar to this recipe. I also used a combination of apples and even threw in a couple overripe pears! Very nice. GREAT for using in baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States