Slow Cooker Cider Applesauce (No Sugar Added) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sailerbabe
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Fantastic. I used Granny Smith and pink apples, ginger, lemon zest and small amounts of cinnamon and all spice. House smells great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is a REALLY good and easy applesauce! I used 5lbs of Honey Crisps we picked two months ago that were just starting to get soft. I cooked this on low for 8 hours, and then cooked it for another hour with the lid off the crock as the applesauce was VERY soupy. I am used to sweet applesauce, and find this has a bit of a bite to it in addition to the sweetness, and I'm just not sure I love that. I added 1/2 packet of Truvia to the portion I just ate, and that softened the kick. If you're looking for an overly and overtly sweet applesauce, this isn't for you....but it is FULL of flavor and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Made just as directed. I did add a touch of Cran/Apple juice to keep it from sticking. I used an immersion blender to whip it up. I'm now going to freeze it in small portions for my mother-in-law to enjoy over the winter. And I agree with another reviewer-if you add sugar you're making a completely different recipe. My M-I-L is diabetic and I didn't want to add any sugar. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern-Dave Slotman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used a mix of Mutsu, Pink Lady, Fugi and Goldrush and let me tell you, it was AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Ok. The point of this recipe is its sugar free. So those who added sugar have created a different applesauce and really shouldn't have commented here. I am looking for a sugar free applesauce and this recipe exactly as it is, is perfect. Even the water is not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Jenkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Just made this recipe today. It turned out great! I had a ton of apples that were given to me and no way to eat them fast enough. This recipe turned out delicious, and did not need any sugar. I only cooked it for 3.5 hours (it was definitely done by then), and I added 1/2 cup water at the start so it wouldn't stick (which it was doing). I'm definitely making this again! It's very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tossed the apples with a tablespoon of lemon juice (to prevent browning and to give it a little tartness) and added a quarter cup brown sugar to this recipe. I also used a combination of apples and even threw in a couple overripe pears! Very nice. GREAT for using in baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Just finished this and it is out of this world! You honestly don't miss the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This applesauce came out just wonderful, very tangy/sweet and flavorful. I used a bunch of different varieties of wild apples picked from the woods and by the roadside around my house. I especially loved that it was a bit chunky when done. While slicing the apples, I tossed them in a few drops of lemon juice to prevent them from browning. I also threw in a couple teaspoons of brown sugar for a bit more sweetness. Thanks for offering this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gage Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Made the applesauce sooo!! good, used left over applesauce and made mini apple pies with crescent rolls!!Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Slow Cooker Jalapeno Popper Taquitos

Check out these creamy and spicy taquitos!

Slow Cooker Macaroni and Cheese

Just set it and forget it. Come home to cheesy comfort food in your crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States