Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I put 1/4 c chili powder plus cumin, 1 can of chopped green chiles (mild) vs bell peppers but definitely the onion! One T of Taco seasoning. Two cans of beans drained & rinsed, 2 cans diced tomatoes, beef broth as needed for consistency. A couple handfuls frozen corn (or a can drained) near the end. Everything else pretty much the same. I offer Fritos, shredded cheese & sour cream for those who choose Frito Chili Pie. Sorry, but I guess I rewrote the recipe. I love beans, all kinds of bean soups, bean casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this chili tonight for dinner, but did many changes. I used four different cans of beans, (pinto, white, black and a chili bean) but I drained most of the juice from each can. I added jalapeno and Serrano peppers and used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste in order to add moisture. If you make the recipe as is, it will be very runny and not have much taste of flavor. I also added salt, pepper and garlic powder. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm not a very good cook, so I tend to follow directions to the 'T', which is what I did here. I should have read the reviews. After filling my 5 qt crock pot with mostly beans, I knew that 1/4 tsp of chili powder wasn't going to do anything, but I still did it. I dumped more in later, even though I hate very spicy things. This turned out to be an expensive bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Easy recipe for begners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The recipe as is isn't very good, watery and pretty bland. I will try it again using some of the reviews I have read on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
After reading reviews and taking others suggestions I made my chili with: almost 2 lbs ground beef, 1 greean bell pepper diced, 1 red bell pepper diced, 1 onion diced, 2 cans of kidney beans, 1 can chili beans, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 small can tomato paste, 1 1/2 cups water, lots of salt, pepper and chili powder. It turned out perfect!4 hrs was the perfect amount of time. It was my first chili attempt and its now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Amero
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe was great!! My whole family loved every bit of it and I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I should have read all the other reviews first, b/c nobody liked it as is. Way too many beans, not enough meat, no seasonings... it was bland and watery. It also takes much longer than 4 hours to cook the vegetables down tender, and there's no instruction as to breaking up the whole tomatoes... I've tried to doctor it up as best I can but it's not even close to being done cooking yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Decrease the cans of beans to 3 (or 4 at most), Increase chili powder at least 3x amount given and I used 1.5 lbs ground beef, not just the 1 lb suggested. Overall though, it's an easy base recipe to follow. I may also add a little hot sauce next time as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
After reading some of the other reviews, I also made some changes to the recipe. I used 3 cans of kidney beans (ALL with liquid DRAINED), 4 tablespoons of chili powder, about 2 tablespoons of salsa, and plenty of salt, pepper, garlic salt, and italian seasoning. I cooked it for 4 hours on high and it was just enough. Served it with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and saltines. Would have added Texas Pete to it but we didn't have any. Actually tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States