Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Added stewed tomatoes instead of peeled and really enhanced the flavor. Used half the liquids and added garlic and a cut up jalapeno. Turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I put 1/4 c chili powder plus cumin, 1 can of chopped green chiles (mild) vs bell peppers but definitely the onion! One T of Taco seasoning. Two cans of beans drained & rinsed, 2 cans diced tomatoes, beef broth as needed for consistency. A couple handfuls frozen corn (or a can drained) near the end. Everything else pretty much the same. I offer Fritos, shredded cheese & sour cream for those who choose Frito Chili Pie. Sorry, but I guess I rewrote the recipe. I love beans, all kinds of bean soups, bean casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this chili tonight for dinner, but did many changes. I used four different cans of beans, (pinto, white, black and a chili bean) but I drained most of the juice from each can. I added jalapeno and Serrano peppers and used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato paste in order to add moisture. If you make the recipe as is, it will be very runny and not have much taste of flavor. I also added salt, pepper and garlic powder. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I'm not a very good cook, so I tend to follow directions to the 'T', which is what I did here. I should have read the reviews. After filling my 5 qt crock pot with mostly beans, I knew that 1/4 tsp of chili powder wasn't going to do anything, but I still did it. I dumped more in later, even though I hate very spicy things. This turned out to be an expensive bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Easy recipe for begners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
The recipe as is isn't very good, watery and pretty bland. I will try it again using some of the reviews I have read on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
After reading reviews and taking others suggestions I made my chili with: almost 2 lbs ground beef, 1 greean bell pepper diced, 1 red bell pepper diced, 1 onion diced, 2 cans of kidney beans, 1 can chili beans, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 small can tomato paste, 1 1/2 cups water, lots of salt, pepper and chili powder. It turned out perfect!4 hrs was the perfect amount of time. It was my first chili attempt and its now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Amero
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe was great!! My whole family loved every bit of it and I did not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I should have read all the other reviews first, b/c nobody liked it as is. Way too many beans, not enough meat, no seasonings... it was bland and watery. It also takes much longer than 4 hours to cook the vegetables down tender, and there's no instruction as to breaking up the whole tomatoes... I've tried to doctor it up as best I can but it's not even close to being done cooking yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Decrease the cans of beans to 3 (or 4 at most), Increase chili powder at least 3x amount given and I used 1.5 lbs ground beef, not just the 1 lb suggested. Overall though, it's an easy base recipe to follow. I may also add a little hot sauce next time as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States