Slow Cooker Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
After reading some of the other reviews, I also made some changes to the recipe. I used 3 cans of kidney beans (ALL with liquid DRAINED), 4 tablespoons of chili powder, about 2 tablespoons of salsa, and plenty of salt, pepper, garlic salt, and italian seasoning. I cooked it for 4 hours on high and it was just enough. Served it with sour cream, cheddar cheese, and saltines. Would have added Texas Pete to it but we didn't have any. Actually tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made certain changes to this recipe. I used 2 cans of chili and 1 can of kidney beans, one can of diced tomatoes and a 1/4 of tomato ketchup, a pound and a half of hamburger and one chopped onion and I used the 1/4 tsp of chili powder. My recipe came out perfectly fine and wasn't watery. I just thought 5 cans of beans seemed like too much. Mine seemed to strike a perfect balance between beans and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitetail, Montana, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe requires so many alterations to make it taste like something other than tomato bean soup that there is no way to give it a good rating as chili. I often read the reviews for tips and tricks to improve even a great recipe. I made this twice having to add 6times the chili powder, cutting the beans in half, adding additional seasonings to give it flavor and then I finally realized, I was creating a new recipe! Making this chili as is will create a very bland, very watery, bean and tomato concoction, not chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Made this recipe & it was AWESOME, I LOVED IT, needless to say, this is my new chili recipe :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoosiermom1959

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wabash, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I'm a very hesitant beginner cook and I've now made this at least 10 times and my family and I really enjoy it. It's a little different every time, but it always turns out well. Seems like you can't really mess it up..... just my kind of recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoshanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This made a pretty good chili. My one complaint is that the recipe didn't have enough chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used one can of chili beans in sauce, can of Rotel, can of tomato sauce, and some kidney beans I soaked over night. I like my chili thicker so I just added some water so it wouldn't dry out while I left it in the slow cooker for 6 hours. I found mine to be just fine for an easy night. Served with corn bread and it was a hearty meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved this chili. It's so easy to make too. It is kinda hard to mess up chili, though...I mean you can add pretty much whatever you want to it as long as you have the main ingrediants of meat and beans. I add celery sometimes, different bell peppers for taste and colour, few different spices. You just have to mess around a bit with ingrediants or add or subtract whatever tastes you do or dont like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbourque81

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I agree with many of the other ratings. 3 cans of beans not 5 (drained). I put 2 Tablespoons of chili powder because I like it spicy. I also found that it tasted better the next day after all the flavors melded. Perfect for chili size topped with cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Used 1 40oz can of kidney beans instead, cut the pepper and the onion, added 2 cans tomato paste, salted, peppered, used garlic powder to taste and 3tbs chili powder. Also used 2lbs ground beef instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.Gravelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States