Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was just "good" for me, not "great." It is a good starter recipe I suppose, as long as you plan to add more spices or flavorings. But it didn't seem to have much flavor on its own, unfortunately. I added some Worcestershire sauce and hot sauce to try to doctor it up, and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I am very happy to have found this recipe. Very easy to make & easy to adjust to varied tastes. I read many of the reviews (Thank you!) and chose to drain two of the cans of beans as I prefer thicker chili and I used garlic salt instead of regular (we're garlic fans) otherwise, I didn't change anything. I understand why most feel it's too tame a recipe but I personally prefer to taste the ingredients in a dish and not the spice/seasoning. My husband, however, loves spicy and he just added more to his own bowl. Overall, I found this to be something that I could enjoy, my 15 month old son would eat and my husband could adjust to his taste. Thank you, Danelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
this chili had no flavor what-so-ever. i had to add a lot of my own seasonings to make it taste decent. wont be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was so good! I added 2 tbsp of Hershey's cocoa (people swear that's the secret ingredient in good chili.) I also added some cumin. It was really good even before I added it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T, but wondered about using just tomato paste instead of canned tomatoes Absolutely the worst chili ever Like bland baby food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a decent chili recipe. I did alter a few things though. I added diced tomatoes and tomato purée. I also substituted chili beans for the cannellini beans. I drained most of the liquid from the beans to thicken the chili slightly. All in all good and I will make again. Baba Booey to you all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tasted a little too Italian for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We LOVE this! We don't use celery but we do add black beans. This chili is so simple and so amazing. I love eating mine with cheese and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made as described. The only thing I changed was adding more hot pepper and cook on high for 4hours because I was short on time. Came out great, right consistency and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Loved the chili I followed recipe but I did cook veggies to soften a bit before putting in crockpot and used 2lb Hamburger instead of 1lb and used 3 tablespoons of chili powder and 1 teaspoon Ancho chili pepper. Turned out great husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States