Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
4 stars for quality basics. If you've never made chili, this is a great starting point. 1/8 teaspoon of pepper sauce is not nearly enough, but that's my taste. Add more pepper sauce and some spicy sausage and you're in championship form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Love this recipe! I usually double it and add a pound of ground pork in it too. I also brown the meat with onions and peppers then also add raw onions and peppers to the crockpot. Add a little extra hot sauce and ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Added an additional pound of meat to substitute for a can of kidney beans. Too many beans for me. Cook over night and I am starving by morning! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Added cumin and 1 lbs of chopped steak seasoned in cajun spices. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just made this and it was severely lacking in spice. Needed way more chili powder and oregano. I also added cumin and cinnamon. Flavor is now a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Pethic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
There are thousands of recipes for chili, each one the 'best' according to the cook. At first glance, I liked this one simply because it didn't include additional 'cumin' other than what is included in the chili powder. Having said that, I note that this recipe might be the first choice of those who don't like 'spicy' chili. For those who consider themselves capable in the kitchen, this recipe can be successfully prepared with a boost to the seasoning - for me a BIG boost, but staying away from too much additional cumin-heavy chili powder. Of course, it's all a matter of personal taste. I upped the green pepper and onion as a matter of preference, and the only additional ingredient I added that was not specified was two tablespoons of sugar - but then I add sugar with any recipe using any large quantity of tomato products. Given the outrageous variety of preferences for making chili, this recipe is a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
So yummy! I added an extra green bell pepper and one jalapeño pepper because I love peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I thought this recipe was very bland, not flavourful or hot enough. Next time I'll triple up on the spices (or more)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta Mercredi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This was okay - thought it was missing something so added some spices and diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is my go-to chili recipe. Perfect for game day! I made a few minor changes. I leave out the celery, use an orange bell pepper rather then green (personal preference), leave out one of the cans of red beans (I use one can of drained and rinsed red beans and one can undrained cannellini beans). I use an Italian spice blend in place if the oregano, basil and parsley and use 6-8 jalapeños (half of them deseeded and ribs removed) in place of the hot sauce (my family likes spicy, but it's mild enough even for our four year old). LOVE this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States