Slow Cooker Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Celery is a big disconnect and this chili had no kick. Disappointed that it is rated so highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Not a good recipe. I followed the recipe pretty closely except instead of cannellini beans I put another can of kidney beans. I also decided to put in more spices since reviews said it was bland. It's done and very watery, doesn't have enough hamburger, and doesn't taste like chili. I would recommend another pound of hamburger, not using the bean juice (use a can of tomatoes and tomato paste in its place), and 1.5 to 2 times more of each spice (and add salt, cayenne pepper, and crushed red pepper). Maybe it would actually taste like chili then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This isn't your typical chili and I'm okay with that. I do love the extra veggies snuck in. It was something that my boys would eat and I felt good serving it. I think the seasonings were a guideline and I took it as so. We like more garlic and a lot more spice so we adjusted it to our liking. I think next time that I will saute the onions and celery prior to putting in the crock pot. That is the only thing that I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Just cooked this for family football evening, really excellent. I did add a good bit more chili powder, hot sauce, and some cayenne pepper because we love spicy chili. But this recipe is a great base that even the spicephobic can enjoy. Served as in thenpicture with sour cream and green onion garnish, and optionally some shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Add more meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Very nice chili. Done this a couple times. Use only 1 can of kidney beans with liquid, 3/4 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp hot sauce & tomato paste instead of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Made this chili for tonights dinner. House smelled AWESOME while the chili was cooking. Made minimum changes (didn't add parsley or third can of beans) and overall the recipe was yummy. It did taste rather tomato-y & definitely could use more seasoning. With adding more seasoning & kick, I will make this again as my family devoured the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
One of the better chili's I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
De-Lish! Easy and quick to prepare. I made it with ground chicken, doubled the ingredients and froze half. Great recipe to use as a base for slow cooker chili. My family loved it with some white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because I had to add a bunch of things to it to make it taste like something . The original recipe was so bland. I adjusted it for 12 servings then added 1.5 tbs chili powder, 1 tbs cumin, 2tsp chili flakes, 1tsp cayenne pepper, 2tsp hot sauce, 1tsp black pepper and I doubled all the other herbs, garlic, and added an extra 1/4 cup of onion and I it awesome now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States